Roast potatoes with sage and cranberries

sage and cranberry roast potatoes

Almost everyone I know loves roast potatoes, crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. I developed this before Christmas because I wanted the perfect roast potatoes.

I almost never use goose fat. There is something about the flavor that I just can’t get along with 100 percent so I have been avoiding making roast potatoes. One day as I was thinking about Christmas I thought I would use coconut oil instead of goose fat. That would make the potatoes vegan as well as crispy. I did a trial run beforehand just in case and I liked them so much I wanted to share them with you. They are so good it is hard not to pinch some even before serving them!

 

I wanted to enhance the Christmas flavor and feeling so I added cranberries and sage leaves and it worked a treat.

 

Sage and cranberry roasted potatoes

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 10 minutes to boil the potatoes, 1 hr in the oven and another 25 minutes

oven 180C or 356F + 200C or 392F

serves 6

Ingredients

  • 12 potatoes, peeled and cut in half
  • 3/4 dl or just less than 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • a good handful of sage leaves
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • pepper
  • 1-2 tbsp oil

Pre boil the potatoes in salted water for 10 minutes. Drain and gently press each potato half with a fork and place them in an oven proof dish. Melt the coconut oil and pour over. Add sea salt and roast for an hour.

Mix the sage leaves and cranberries with the oil and scatter over the potatoes. Turn the heat up to 200C or 392F and roast for another 25 minutes until the sage leaves are crispy and the cranberries start to caramelize.

 

 

 

This could be a dish on it’s own with gravy or a hot sauce to dip them in. I served them with the turkey on Christmas day and I will make them again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
6 Responses to “Roast potatoes with sage and cranberries”
  1. spineat says:

    What an interesting idea! Looks very delicious :)))) Happy New Year!

    • petra08 says:

      hi,
      It worked a treat, the potatoes were crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside and it was a vegan dish! I didn’t even think about it whilst making it. The potatoes were lighter than ones cooked in goose fat.
      Happy New Year 2017! 🙂

  2. looks so good! happy new year

  3. petra08 says:

    Thank you for the re blog! Happy New year 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] via Roast potatoes with sage and cranberries — Food Eat Love […]



Leave a Reply

