Scallop mousse ravioli

scallop mousse ravioli

I have been wanting to make a seafood based mousse for ravioli for a while but somehow there hasn’t been time or I didn’t have the ingredients at hand.

I had friends coming over last weekend and got some scallops, completely forgetting that my friend doesn’t like them. I quickly hid them in the freezer and decided to cook them another day.

The fishmonger had some lovely scallops when I went there today so I got some more and defrosted the ones I bought the previous weekend.

 

scallops

 

I now had enough scallops for my ravioli and as I was making pasta for the market I decided to set some aside for myself.

 

I used the squid ink pasta as it is so dark and I didn’t use the roe in the mousse to keep it as white as possible.

I did a very basic mousse as I was limited on time but if you like scallops, this is a great way of cooking with them. Usually I end up pan frying the scallops whole as I love them like that but sometimes it is nice to do something different.

 

Scallop mousse ravioli 

preparation time 15-25 minutes 

cooking time 4-5 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • enough pasta dough for 8 large ravioli, about 500 gr or 17.6 oz, I used squid ink pasta
  • White meat from 7 scallops, cleaned and chopped
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup cold whipping cream
  • 1 egg white from an extra large egg, whipped stiff
  • about 1/2 tsp salt
  • about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Garnish

  • scallop roe, if you have it, cleaned and sliced
  • the green of 2 spring onions/scallions, sliced
  • slow pan fried egg yolk, cut in to strips (optional)
  • a pinch of sea salt flakes
  • butter

Scrape the scallop meat through a sieve, ideally 3-4 times to make sure it is smooth. Be as quick as possible as the scallop meat should be as cold as possible. Add the cold whipping cream, not whipped, the spices and last fold in the whipped egg white.

Put the pasta through the pasta machine or roll it thin by hand. Place the scallop mixture on to the pasta. Seal the pasta around each mound of scallop mousse and cut the ravioli. I did big ravioli as I wanted to serve two per person as a starter. If you have a big dinner one per person would be enough.

 

If you are not eating the ravioli straight away place them on a mix of semolina and pasta flour until you are ready to cook them, 4-5 minutes is perfect.

 

When the ravioli are cooking heat butter in a pan until it starts to brown lightly. Add the sliced scallop roe and pan fry for a couple of minutes. Turn the heat down to keep warm. Add the egg yolk, break it and let is cook slowly on the lower heat. I added this as I had one left over from the egg white used for the mousse.

 

Plate the ravioli and add the garnish with the butter before serving. You can cut these in half if you wish as the filling isn’t runny at all.

 

scallop mousse ravioli

 

This will work for any scallop lover and I am sure it will work well with other raw fish and/or prawns. I will use a little more butter for the garnish next time and the egg yolk is a keeper.

 

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. This weeks co hosts are the very talented Liz, Spades Spatulas & Spoons and Jenny, Jenny is Baking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Scallop mousse ravioli”
  1. chefkreso says:

    Love scallops, I just had them last week when I went to the coast 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Chef Kreso
      Scallops is one of my favorites! They sell local one here that are delicious and it was a great way to cook them in a different way 🙂

  2. Jenny says:

    Wow, this looks like a nice tweak on raviolis.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.