Smoked mackerel and tomato water

Smoked mackerel and tomato water -

I was talking the other day to a friend about watching TV. She has two little children and she limits any TV watching in favor of family time. I lived for six years without a TV and didn’t miss it. I think my old colleagues thought I was a bit strange and they could never discuss the soap operas with me.

In the end I missed watching movies so I got one but I never got in to the soap operas. I do like food TV and one of the annual highlights is the Great British Menu where top UK chefs battle it out in the kitchen to cook at a worthy banquet. Some of the dishes on the program are just amazing and this year chef Pip Lacey made a dish with tomato water and I knew I wanted to make some. I saw Chef Raymon Blanc make something similar and use the tomato water in a risotto.

 

I recently bought a strainer. I had one but after the last move I can’t seem to find it. It might be hidden in a box in the shed but after looking for it it seems to have vanished. I was excited about my new strainer and wanted to use it straight away. There is nothing like a new kitchen toy!

 

Tomato water 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes, 2 hours for straining 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 ripe tomatoes
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 small handful of parsley, chopped

Mix all of the ingredients and place in the strainer. Let it sit undisturbed for at least two hours. The cling film was to keep any potential flies out as they seem to be buzzing around the garden and I walk in and out of the kitchen.

 

Straining tomatoes

 

I had some roasted asparagus and beans that I used and I also cubed a few slices of heritage tomatoes and mixed them with sun dried tomatoes for an even more intense tomato flavor.

 

Once the water is done place it at the bottom of a deep bowl. Don’t throw the tomato mixture away, I used it the next day for gazpacho with some added cucumber, chicken stock and cucumber.

If you let the water sit undisturbed the solids that are left will sink to the bottom.

 

Tomato water

 

Place a few slices of tomato, some asparagus or beans, the smoked mackerel and add the cubed and sun dried tomato. I finished the dish with a few flakes of sea salt, a pinch of chilli, a shiso leaf and olive oil.

 

Smoked mackerel and tomato water

I like the smokiness from the mackerel with the tomato. The tomato water was refreshing and delicious. It was a great use of the strainer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Smoked mackerel and tomato water”
  1. Like something right from the kitchen of a top restaurant Petra – lovely 😊

Leave a Reply

