Pasta and Hot Sauces at the market

I think I have told most of you that I decided to get a market stall earlier this year. I spent years developing the, in my opinion, perfect Hot Sauce. I love the flavor of chilli and the chilli kick but I am not in to pain and when you can’t taste anything else. This is why I set out to to make my own in the first place.

 

Now I make hot sauce on a regular basis to sell at the market. I wanted to have a product range of fresh produce to go with it and came up with fresh pasta. I try to make pasta that bring something extra and this week I got really excited as I had bought squid ink.

The only time I have used squid ink before was for a tapioca risotto. This time I wanted to use it for pasta.

 

I did spaghetti and it turned out so black and so nice.

 

squid ink pasta

 

I decided to make stripey pasta and use it for ravioli. I like to make ravioli, it is a bit fiddly and especially when making the pasta stripey but the result is so satisfying!

 

I used some beetroot from the allotment. I had candy cane beetroot, it is so pretty I really wanted to grow some, and yes it does taste good as well!

 

candy cane beetroot

 

I peeled and cubed the beetroot, mixed olive oil, sea salt, chilli flakes and fennel seeds and roasted it. Once cooled I mixed it with finely shredded mint.

I whipped feta cheese to go with it and placed it on stripey pasta.

 

roast beetroot and whipped feta cheese ravioli

 

roast beetroot and whipped feta cheese ravioli

 

I did a second kind of ravioli, garlic mushroom, marscapone and fresh, chopped wild rocket.

 

 

I like mushrooms in ravioli and here is a garlic mushroom and marscapone cheese ravioli. I had some Isle of Mull cheddar. It is strong and absolutely delicious.

 

mushroom ravioli with Isle of Mull cheese

 

The ravioli cooks in about five minutes and a little cheese is all that is needed. Ravioli is a perfect little pasta parcel and done right, a perfect meal. Do you have a favorite ravioli?

 

I try to always bring some new flavors to the market. It is always a bit of a mystery what flavor pasta will sell best but maybe one day I will figure it out.

 

Fresh pasta for the market

 

I never thought having a market stall would be so social. It is always interesting to people watch, almost everyone here has a dog and dog watching is equally fun. Some owners do actually look like their dogs and it is quite amazing to see.

My secret fun is to watch people try the hot sauce. The hot sauce is all about flavor but they are chilli based and have a chilli kick ranging from medium to very hot. It is usually those who talk the loudest about loving the chilli heat that suffers the most and sometimes I can’t help but smile watching their reaction. I don’t mean to be mean and I always warn them beforehand. Then there are those who loves chilli and for whom the sauce isn’t hot enough. I have waited for the really hot chilies to ripen in the greenhouse and this week I picked the first, ripe ghost chili.

The Carolina Reaper chilli is even hotter and even green it looks scary! It is gnarly and it looks so hot.

 

Carolina Reaper

 

I made a new hot sauce based on the super hot chilies and it is so hot I introduced a whole new line, the Reaper Hot Sauce, what do you think?

 

Heatonomy Reaper Hot Sauce

 

I have tried it and it has the trademark Heatonomy flavor but a more intense heat that lingers a bit longer. Let’s see how it will be received at the market.

To be continued…

I am bringing this blog post, even if without a recipe to Fiesta Friday as I didn’t make it last week and I really missed all my lovely Fiesta Friday friends! This week is is c o hosted by the lovely Judi, Cooking with Aunt Juju, and Sadhna, Herbs, Spices and Tradition.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
18 Responses to “Pasta and Hot Sauces at the market”
  1. Sumith says:

    Beautiful captures! And loved each and every piece of creativity in you. There is some thing to learn from each and every post from yours. Thanks for all these beautiful shares Petra.

  2. OMG, that ghost chili! It looks pretty, though. I love growing chili peppers, even if I don’t end up using them. They’re just so pretty! I grew yellow habaneros last year, but ended up giving away all of them. Good luck with the market, Petra! I can see your little business expanding and that is so exciting. You have the passion, and it shows. Big applause!

  3. mistimaan says:

    Hi Petra,

    Loved your pictures, your writing and also the foods. Hats off to you 🙂

  4. Where do I start – your pasta is so natural looking it reminded me of a friend’s yarn that she dyes. The ravioli made me hungry, the chili made me wish I still had a big garden and yes to the “Grim Reaper” – perfect! Good luck with your stall – if I was a customer I would probably buy everything just to try it. Happy FF and have a great weekend!

  5. It all looks amazing! I’m glad it’s going well xx

  6. Your pics are awesome, I want the recipe of that hot chili sauce. In my garden, i am growing some very hot chilies.Thanks for linking to the Fiesta Friday this week.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sadhna
      Thank you. I am glad you like the photos.
      I share almost all recipes but the one I have been asked for most, the hot sauce, I am sorry I can’t share as I have (finally) taken it to market. I would say go with your instincts and I am sure you will get a great hot sauce 🙂 Thank you for co hosting FF!

  7. Sneha Modi says:

    Lovely pictures and description!

  8. miakouppa says:

    Such pretty pasta!

Leave a Reply

