Chilli Pineapple Chicken tacos

Chilli Pineapple chicken tacos

A couple of years ago I resigned from my corporate job and decided to give my passion for food a go. I started with a market stall, that I am still doing and it has branched out to pop up restaurants and I took a sushi chef course.

The market is a great place to test new products and some do better than others. One of the products I have had almost from the beginning is Chilli Pineapple. It is pineapple with a hint of chilli. I usually eat it with cheese or use it to glaze pork but I wanted to do something different and I decided to make chicken tacos.

Chilli Pineapple

If you don’t have any chilli pineapple use fresh, chopped pineapple and a pinch of chilli.

Chilli Pineapple Chicken Tacos

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 30 minutes

oven 150C or 300F

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 400 gr or 14 oz chicken, I used a mix of chicken thigh and chicken breast. Cut in to strips
  • 1 aubergine
  • 1 courgette/zucchini
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup chilli pineapple
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup water
  • oil for pan frying
  • salt
  • pepper
  • paprika powder

Cut the aubergine in to fairly thick strips, salt them and set them aside.

Heat oil in a pan with a lid. Pan fry the chicken strips in batches, adding salt, pepper and paprika powder.

When the chicken is browned add all of them back to the pan, rinse the aubergine and add them to the pan with the pineapple, soy sauce and the Shaoxing rice wine. Put the lid on the pan, bring it to a boil and place in the oven for 20 minutes, or let the dish simmer on medium heat under lid on the cooker for 20 minutes. Check at half time to make sure it isn’t dry.

Cut the courgette into fairly thick strips. After 20 minutes take the pan out of the oven, remove the lid, add the courgette and let the liquids boil down on medium heat for 10 minutes.

I had a little bread dough left over so I rolled it thin. I heated oil in a pan and fried the bread to go with the chicken, but soft or crispy tacos or rice would work. For a healthier option I would use iceberg lettuce cups.

Add a little more chilli pineapple, parsley and some sliced chilli and serve.

Chilli Pineapple chicken tacos

I had some more dough and the next day I cooked it the same way for lunch and sprinkled feta cheese, lightly charred cauliflower greens and a fried egg for lunch.

Flatbreads with feta, cauliflower and egg

It might not have been the most healthy lunch option but it was so delicious, I will keep these recipes as a treat.

I am bringing these to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday, the most fun bloggers party around! This week she has two inspirational co hosts, Antonia, Zoale.com and Abbey, Tree Cats and a Girl.

Comments
23 Responses to “Chilli Pineapple Chicken tacos”
  1. Monika says:

    Sounds like a great snack, especially with the chilli pineapple!

  2. Omg, it sounds so good!! I made pineapple cucumber relish the other day, to go with some broiled fish, but I only used half of the pineapple so maybe I’ll try making chili pineapple with the other half today. I suppose your recipe is secret? 😄😄 I’m just teasing, Petra, pls don’t feel obliged to divulge your recipe. Besides I’d like to experiment 😄

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Am glad you like the sound of this, oh the recipe is a closely guarded secret! ha ha
      I love the sound of pineapple and cucumber together, it makes me think of summer and barbecues!
      I hope you give the recipe a go, we ate the lot and I was hoping for left overs for lunch the next day 🙂 x

  3. This sounds incredible!! I love tacos and pineapple. I think this would taste great together!! Thanks for bringing it to Fiesta Friday! I hope your weekend was great!

  4. Healthy and must be delicious!

  5. ragnarsbhut says:

    This does look tasty.

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you for stopping by and glad you like it 🙂

      • ragnarsbhut says:

        Do you enjoy spicy foods in general?

        • petra08 says:

          hi Ragnar
          Life would be boring without spices and a little or lot of chilli in most dishes I find 🙂

          • ragnarsbhut says:

            Petra08, what is your preference for the heat level when it comes to spicy foods?

            • petra08 says:

              Hi Ragnar
              For me I think it stops around habaneros/scotch bonnets but I make a hotter sauce with Carolina reaper. What heat level is your preference?

              • ragnarsbhut says:

                Petra08, I go for the hardcore stuff personally. However, if I come across something that is way too spicy for my taste, I will concede that said item is too spicy. My heat threshold is pretty high when it comes to spicy foods. However, the only time I have any problems is if I overdo it. Feel free to check out my blog and give me feedback as you feel inclined to.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Chili Pineapple Chicken Tacos from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.