Roasted Miso Marinated Vegetables and New Business

Greek Meatballs

We are on our third week of country wide lock down due to Covid-19, It is slowly starting to feel like the new normal. Speaking of normal will we ever get back to how it was? If not how will it be? What will we change? How has it changed us?

In this time of crisis I have seen some incredible acts of courage and kindness as well as some truly selfish actions, it seems to bring out the best and the worst in us! A friend of mine works in events and together with some colleagues they put together a tribute to the amazing health care workers who all do a fantastic job under very difficult circumstances. Have a look on #lightitblue and #makeitblue it is spreading to other countries and there are some incredible images from the USA! You will see some if you search on twitter or Instagram, or you can also check it out here.

One of my most difficult things to get used to was not to go food shopping so often. I had a craving for a really good cookie and decided to make an oatmeal and raisin cookie myself. I almost never bake so I attribute this to the lock down.

The first thing I did was to think of how I could add more flavor so I added dried cranberries and chocolate. I quite liked them but I felt they could be better.

I did another batch with oatmeal, raisins, cranberries, toasted sunflower seeds and crystallized range peels. I might have found my favorite combination.

Oatmeal cookie

The market closed so I had to find something else to do so I started a home delivery business. I have been busy in the kitchen developing and fine tuning recipes. I decided to make 3 different dishes per week. One with fish or meat, one pasta and one that is vegetarian or vegan.

The idea is to create affordable meals offering something a little different, and save a night of cooking.

For this weeks menu I had a recipe of miso marinated, roasted vegetables and vegan pesto rice but it didn’t quite come together. In the end I made courgette and caramelized sweetcorn fritters, a clear winner and it is vegan.

Courgette & Sweetcorn fritters

For carnivores I have Greek inspired Lemon & Feta Cheese Lamb Meatballs, served with Potato & Cauliflower Mash, Citrus slaw and an Apple Taziki.

Greek Meatballs

The ravioli is seasonal asparagus and whipped feta cheese, one of my favorite combinations.

Asparagus & feta cheese ravioli

There has been plenty of time to cook for myself as well and I cooked a shoulder of lamb for Easter on request from M. I like it cooked with lots of garlic and rosemary. After looking in my fridge I decided to make miso marinated, roasted vegetables and garbanzo beans, aka chickpeas as well.

For the lamb I use this recipe as a base and vary the spices according to what I have at home and feel like using.

Shoulder of lamb to roast

Whilst the lamb is cooking prepare the vegetables and potatoes.

I had an order for roast potatoes and added sage, spices and sesame seeds before baking them on rock salt.

sage potatoes

Miso Marinated Roasted Vegetables

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 30 minutes marinate + 40 minutes cooking time

oven 175C or 350F

serves 4 as a side dish

Ingredients

  • Miso marinade:
  • 1 good tsp white Miso paste
  • 2 tbsp Rice wine viengar
  • 1/2 tbsp Shaoxing Rice wine
  • 2 tbsp Soy Sauce
  • 1 crushed Garlic clove
  • 3/4 dl Rapeseed oil
  • 1/2 tsp Sumac
  • 1/2 tsp Aleppo pepper
  • 1 good pinch of crushed chilli
  • 1 pinch Cumin seeds
  • 1 tbsp Maple syrup
  • Vegetables
  • 1 punnet button Mushrooms
  • 1/2 Cauliflower, leaves included
  • 200 gr or 7 oz Gabanzo beans/Chickpeas

Whisk the ingredients to the marinade together. Clean the mushrooms and cut the cauliflower in to chunks.

Place the marinade, the vegetables and the beans in a plastic bag. Shake it to make sure the vegetables gets covered with the marinade. Leave in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Place the vegetables on an ovenproof tray and roast until they are cooked through and start to caramelize.

Roasted miso marinated vegtables

Roasted miso marinated vegtables

Take the lamb out of the oven

roast shoulder of lamb

Roasted shoulder of lamb

I served it with Yorkshire pudding, gravy, a salad with a citrus dressing and tahini creme fraiche.

Roast lamb dish

It was a proper Sunday dinner and somehow it made Easter feel a little bit more normal. We had a small way of sharing, a portion went to our neighbour in exchange for dessert. All delivered at a safe distance of course, sharing in the Covid-19 era.

Stay safe and take care of yourself and the ones that are close!

I am finally making it to Angie’s Fiesta Friday! If you have a little extra time have a look. Angie is the most gracious hostess and thee is always something that catches the eye!

She has two lovely co hosts, Diann, Of Goats and Greens, and Liz, Spades, Spatulas and Spoons, they are both truly inspirational!

Comments
14 Responses to “Roasted Miso Marinated Vegetables and New Business”
  1. What a great idea! Congratulations! Everything looks so good! I wish I could live nearby 😉😋
    Stay safe!

  2. I like the way food becomes art. Well done. 👏👏👏

  3. Sign me up for this restaurant! The food looks and sounds fabulous. Thanks for bringing it to FF, wish it wasn’t virtual.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Liz
      Oh ha ha thank you! I am so glad I finally made it to FF! It is never the same without it!
      Thank you for co hosting! It would be fantastic if we could meet up! Be safe 🙂 x

  4. Everything you cook always looks so incredibly tasty, and beautiful. I would sign up for the delivery order if I lived close by. I’m actually perusing your site looking for the rib recipe where I remember you were using blood oranges. I have some lying around, and they’re getting a little wrinkly!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      Thank you 🙂 I wish I could ship it further! My radius is very narrow…
      Here is the recipe https://bit.ly/2KvryuU but for the blood orange I would:
      Peel and fillet the blood oranges, squeeze the juice out. Add a little water and sugar, any flavorings you like, maybe a little rosemary, chilli, garlic… I love just chilli, but anything works that you like, add sugar and boil down until you have a slight syrup consistency and pour over the cooked ribs. Spice the ribs as you normally would before cooking. xx

      • Thanks! I just took it out of the oven. I did exactly as you described there. I used Liz’s fennel dry rub before glazing with the blood orange syrup. I didn’t even marinate it overnight or anything like that since it was a spur of the moment idea, but it IS SO GOOD! My family is enjoying it as we speak! A little less tender than I would have liked, but everybody was already hungry, smelling the amazing aroma coming from the oven for the last few hours. It’s definitely a keeper. You should offer it for your delivery service, it’ll be a hit!

        • petra08 says:

          hi Angie
          The fennel rub sounds delicious! I am sorry they were not as tender but glad you enjoyed the flavors!
          Ha ha I will give it a thought for the home delivery service 🙂 xx

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Roasted Miso Marinated Vegetables and New Business […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.