Dimsum, beetroot, chicken, ginger and chilli siu mai and pot stickers

I have been thinking about beetroots and dumplings and wondered if it could be something that would work together, why shouldn’t it? Except  I have never had any beetroot dumplings so the only way to find out would be to actually make some.

I was watching some food TV and all of the sudden I saw Tyler Florence making his ultimate dim sum. I used his recipe as a base but changed it quite a lot, you can find his recipe here.

I love beetroot with ginger and chilli, the flavours just work so well together, I decided to use this combination here. I wanted to make the dim sum as healthy as possible and replaced most of the ingredients. Instead of the classic combination of pork and prawns I used lean chicken, tofu and beetroot as the base.

When I went to buy the gyoza wrappers (I thought actually making the dough might be one step too far when I am not used to making dumplings), I also found some Ngo Gai.

30Aug_GyozaWrappers

It said parsley on the Ngo Gai bag but it didn’t look like any parsley I have ever seen and I had to buy some. Ngo Gai is a herb related to parsley and the smell is more coriander and reminded me about Vietnamese food, you can read all about it here.

30Aug_Parsley

Beetroot, chicken, ginger and chilli dumplings, Siu Mai and pot stickers

Preparation time  40 minutes (it took me extra long as I am a bit slow making the dumplings)

Cooking time 10 minutes per batch of dumplings 

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 kg or 1 pound of skinless chicken thighs (to mince)
  • 125 gr or 1/4 pound silken tofu
  • 1 salad onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1-2 cm (about an inch) fresh ginger
  • 1 fresh beetroot
  • 1 bunch Ngo Gai
  • 1 red chilli
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 2 egg whites
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Garnish

  • basil seeds

I bought chicken thighs at the butcher and used my mincer. I placed the tofu and the egg whites together with the corn starch in the mixer and ran until smooth and set aside. Peel and grate the beetroot fine. Grate the ginger, crush the garlic, chop the salad onion and the Ngo Gai. Add to the tofu and egg white mixture.

30Aug_Ingredients

When that was done I cut the chicken thighs up roughly and minced them and added the mince to the tofu. Then add the rest of the sauces, the lemon juice and the salt and pepper.  The beetroot made the filling pink and I think it looked nice.

I took 1 goyoza wrapper and for the siu mai, open dumplings I added 1 tbsp to each one. When they were done I sprinkled over the basil seeds. Repeat until you have as many as you will eat.

30Aug_RawSuiMai

When I had made all the siu mai I wanted to make pot stickers. I placed 1 tsp of filling on one wrapper. I then folded the wrapper with the filling inside and crimped the top.

30Aug_RawPotStickers

I steamed the sui mai in a bamboo steamer, I placed a lettuce leaf in the bottom to stop them from sticking and each batch took 10 minutes.

I pan fried the pot stickers on one side in oil in the wok and I then added water and put the lid on and let steam for 10 minutes. They were done at the same time and it was ready to serve. I only added some shredded lettuce and made a dipping sauce to go with it.

Dipping sauce

Preparation time 4 minutes

Cooking time 0 minutes

Serves 2-3

Ingredients

  • ½ dl or 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tsp runny honey
  • juice of ½ lemon

Mix everything and pour in to a small serving bowl. Dip the dim sum in the sauce and enjoy.

30Aug_DumplingMeal

The beetroot was delicious as dumpling filling, I could have had less chicken and more beetroot but the balance was great. The tofu and the egg white made the filling light but firm. I have only made dumplings once before but after this session I will make them again, it was delicious and strangely satisfying to make your own.

I have added this to Javelin Warriors challenge, Made with Love Mondays, all about cooking from scratch.

MadeWithLove

Comments
6 Responses to “Dimsum, beetroot, chicken, ginger and chilli siu mai and pot stickers”
  1. What a creative and delicious sounding dumpling, Petra! I love beets and I’ve never thought to use them as a filling for dumplings like this – and I don’t blame you at all for not wanting to make your own wrappers! I think that’s a bit too far for me as well 😉

    • petra08 says:

      hi Mark
      It was delicious and comes from the fact that I have a surplus of beetroots at the allotment! It worked really well and I liked the color it brought to the dumplings as well 🙂

  2. this looks absolutely delicious. I love dim sum and have been trying to summon the courage to make some. I shall order the wrappers and give it a go now – your ingredients sound delicious

    • petra08 says:

      hi Nazima
      It is so much easier that I thought and once you get “in to it” you will make loads in no time! Let me know how it goes! The tofu and the beetroot made it healthier and lighter but still filling and yummy!

  3. These look awesome Petra! I’m always so disappointed or too cheap to eat goyza out.. time to make some at home 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      It was easier than I thought but it took me quite some time a am so not used to making them! I am sure it is just a matter of making them more often, and super easy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

