Pork loin with cheddar cheese sauce

The other day I found myself aimlessly wandering around the isle of a supermarket looking for inspiration for dinner. I wasn’t sure what I wanted but when I saw a pork loin it looked too good to resist. I buy almost all my meat from the butcher but I was in the supermarket so I got it. I wasn’t really sure what to actually do with it but I thought I would think of something before it was time to cook dinner.

 

By the time it was time for dinner I wanted something comforting, meat and veg! It was a little cold out and I thought it called for some comfort food. After a rumage around the fridge I found a small piece of strong cheddar cheese and plenty of veg. I had some new potatoes that I boiled, the first ones this year and they were delicious, so simple!

 

07May_BowlOfPotatoes

 

Pork loin with cheddar cheese sauce

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 12 minutes 

oven 180C or 350F 

Serves 2 – 3, 4 with more vegetables 

Ingredients

  • 1 whole pork loin
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese, I used low fat but any strong hard cheese is good
  • 1 tbsp cream
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of water
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • oil to cook
  • paprika powder
  • salt & pepper to taste

Trim the pork loin and add paprika, salt and pepper. Heat oil in the pan and brown the pork loin on all sides. Then place the frying pan in the oven for 5 minutes and then place it back on the stove top, add the water and boil down to half and add the cream, soy sauce and mirin. Taste with salt and pepper. Take the pan off the heat and take the meat out and let it rest for 5-10 minutes. Add the grated cheese and stir until melted. The cream was a bit excessive but I had it in the fridge and a little cream goes a long way with a lot of flavor.

 

07May_CheesyBrownSauce

 

I made a salad with the vegetables on the side and sliced the meat. The pork loin will be ever so slightly pink in the thickest part, just cook it for a couple more minutes if you don’t like this.

 

07May_PorkLoin-cooked

 

The whole dinner tasted comforting and I have to admit the two of us liked it so much we ate all of it with the left over plum jam from the other day! I think pork and plum is a one of my favorite flavor combinations.

 

07May_PorkLoinDinner

 

 

Changing my diet to eating more fish and vegetarian makes me appreciate meat more and the pork was delicious, I will have fish for dinner tomorrow.

Comments
2 Responses to “Pork loin with cheddar cheese sauce”
  1. flippenblog says:

    Cheese sauce with the pork sounds perfect. Will give it a try.

    • petra08 says:

      hey

      thanks 🙂 it worked well but then I would add cheese to just about anything! I hope you will like it too!

Leave a Reply

