Coca Cola and ginger carnitas

Carnita filled tortilla

The holidays always inspire me to go more healthy in January and this year has been no exception. It is almost a relief to get stuck in to a bowl of soup or a salad and think of lighter foods and more vegetables!

Saying this, and after a very light and healthy dinner, I was lying in bed when I suddenly felt ravenous. There was no way I was going to head down to the kitchen in the middle of the night but my thoughts were firmly food inspired.

Not sure how it happened but all of the sudden I remembered that we had a bottle of Coca Cola, most likely from Christmas and I knew I wanted to cook something with it. I almost never drink soft drinks but I was reluctant to get rid of it and I knew I could use it for cooking. All of the sudden I had a vision of a juicy soft tortilla packed with carnitas, pulled pork and fresh vegetables and I knew that would be next nights dinner.

I created this recipe so it is not authentic carnitas but it has the braising element with the fall apart tender meat. It will make your house smell absolutely delicious! I cooked them in an ovenproof pan with a tight fitting lid and it was perfect as I could them do other things whilst it was simmering away.

 

Cocoa cola and ginger carnitas 

preparation time 5-10 minutes 

cooking time 2 hours + reducing the liquid

oven 150C or 300F 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 pork shoulder steaks (slices)
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of coca cola
  • 1/2 dl soy sauce
  • 1 good piece of ginger, peeled and cut julienne, (thin matchsticks)
  • 5 garlic cloves, peeled, crushed and roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp runny honey
  • 1 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp miso paste
  • 1 tbsp Shaoxing rice wine
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • oil for frying
  • salt & pepper

Rinse and pat the shoulder steaks dry. Salt and pepper them before browning them on both sides. Once all the steaks are browned add the ginger, garlic and chilli and stir for a couple of minutes.

 

pork steaks with ginger chilli and garlic

 

Add the cocoa cola, soy sauce, runny honey, miso paste, Shaoxing rice wine and the rice wine vinegar. Bring to a boil and make sure the miso paste dissolves before adding the lid and placing the pan in the oven.

Just leave it for 2 hours at least, the meat will be cooked when it has a fall apart texture and it will smell amazing.

 

braised pork with ginger

 

 

When the meat is cooked pull the meat using two forks. Remove any visible fat whilst doing this and then add the pulled meat back to the cooking liquid.

Bring the meat to a boil and reduce down until almost all the liquid has gone.

 

I didn’t make my tortillas, but bought some and after gently heating them up I loaded them with lettuce, tomato, avocado, soured cream, red onion, pepper and grated cheese.

 

Carnitas stuffed tortilla

 

Before dinner was cooked I was thinking it would have been nice to go out for a Mexican but there are non around. This did hit the spot and it was so easy to make.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Coca Cola and ginger carnitas”
    • petra08 says:

      hi Karen
      Thank you for stopping by and I am so glad you like it! It is supper easy and so much flavor. Have a great week 🙂

  1. jackcollier7 says:

    interesting, I’ll try this recipe. Kudos Petra ❤

  2. Looks and sounds delish! 🌶

  3. Interesting combination. Looks tasty!

Leave a Reply

