Cauliflower pizza

cauliflower pizza with pepperoni and mushroom

A while back I did cauliflower pizza. All the hype made me so curious I knew I had to try it. It was a disaster and it literally crumbled. I have since researched plenty of recipes.

Getting the pizza steel from the Pizza Steel company made me think it was time to create a recipe that would work. I couldn’t find a recipe that I felt was 100% right so I created one.

I did hold my breath when moving the pizza to the plate and I was so happy when it worked. I liked it so much I want to share it with you.

 

Cauliflower pizza 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 5-7 minutes 

oven 210C or 410F and 250C or 482F

serves 4

Ingredients

The pizza base 

  • 1/2 medium cauliflower
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 small egg or 1 egg yolk and 2 tsp egg white
  • 3 tbsp corn starch

Pizza topping

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 shredded fresh mozzarella
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup caramelized onion
  • fried mushrooms, chopped and pan fried with soy sauce and mirin
  • chilli oil 
  • watercress

Rinse and roughly chop the cauliflower. Spread it out on a roasting tray with the desiccated coconut. Melt the coconut oil and scatter it over the cauliflower. Roast until it is slightly dry and roasted. Turn it every now and then. If you want cauliflower rice, add some salt and pepper and this is ready to serve.

 

cauliflower rice

 

Mix the slightly cooled cauliflower with corn starch and the egg. Divide the “dough” in two. Flatten each dough as much as possible with your hands and last place some clingfilm over and use a rolling pin. Make sure the dough sticks together.

Let it sit for a minimum of 30 minutes in the fridge to set.

Add the toppings and bake the pizza for about 5 minutes, you might want to keep it in a little longer but keep an eye on it.

 

cauliflower pizza with mushrooms and cheese

 

cauliflower pizza

 

I added some pepperoni to the second pizza.

 

cauliflower pizza with pepperoni and mushroom

 

This cauliflower base worked a lot better that my previous attempt and the steel cooked the pizza nicely. It was very filling and the crust wasn’t as thin as it would be with regular pizza dough but it was still delicious and it it absolutely tasted like pizza, perhaps slightly healthier.

 

I am bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday, no week is the same without it! Come and join us, have a look at some truly delicious foods and hook up with other foodies!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
13 Responses to “Cauliflower pizza”
  1. Looks like you have developed a good version 🙂 I might even try again…I also tried it once a couple of years ago and haven’t revisited it since..

    • petra08 says:

      hi Elaine
      I think it was a couple of years ago since I did mine and it was an utter disaster! Cauliflower crumbles everywhere, it put me off for quite a while! I could even use a rolling pin to make this “dough”thinner! I hope you make it, I am sure there will be a great spin on it! 🙂

      • Oh wow, that sounds vastly better than my early attempt!!

      • petra08 says:

        hi Elaine
        On my first try there wasn’t anything to bind the ingredients so I guess this is why it just crumbled! I also think the desiccated coconut adds a little texture, depending on if you like it of course! 🙂 Happy week!

  2. chefjulianna says:

    Well, this is very timely, Petra! So funny because I was looking at recipes for cauliflower pizza just this week. So many of the comments were that the results were terrible, just like you said. I will have to give your recipe a try because I have been curious about this new trend as well. My husband and I often love to make pizza on Friday nights, and a healthier version would be wonderful. Thanks for doing the foot work for me! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I read a lot of recipes and well, my previous try was a complete failure. I saw quite a few recipes with cheese in as a binder instead of egg and that would make sense but I wanted to keep it a bit healthier. One recipe used almond flour but I thought it might be too sweet but also worth a try perhaps. Either way this works a treat, just add cling film when the dough is flattened out and you can use a rolling pin to make sure it is thin enough.
      Either way I hope it works out and can’t wait to see a delicious pizza from you! 🙂 x

  3. Keith Trawick says:

    Great idea!!!!!!

  4. Beautiful, Petra, as always! 🙂

Leave a Reply

