Carnitas filled pineapple ravioli with crispy kale

Carnitas filled pineapple ravioli with crispy kale

There is one dish I make for dinner guests that they all seems to fall in love with and that is crispy kale. The recipe comes from the Chinese crispy seaweed. Of course crispy seaweed is just cabbage so that made me think of using kale instead.

I had an inkling of how it was made but instead of deep frying the cabbage I decided to bake the kale. I make this as a side dish but it seems to take center stage every time.

 

When Angie challenged us at the Fiesta Friday to create a dish using pineapple and leafy greens and to create a healthy dish. I am not actually sure that this dish qualifies as healthy, but everything in moderation and it is a small dish or a starter, not a main course.

 

Crispy kale 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 7-10 minutes 

oven 250C or 482F 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 6-8 stems of curly kale
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp oil, I used rapeseed oil

To make it cook faster and to make it extra crispy I placed the pizza steel in the oven to heat it up and it cut the cooking time in about half.

Clean the kale and remove the stem but keep it in large pieces, it will give the nicest bite. Sprinkle over salt and sugar and toss in the oil just before putting it in the oven.

Place the kale on grease proof paper and place on the hot pizza steel, or on an oven tray if you don’t use the steel. Watch it carefully and turn it often to make sure it bakes evenly until it is crispy. Don’t leave it alone or it might burn but you will be rewarded with wonderful crispy kale.

 

crispy curly kale

 

I got the idea for a pineapple ravioli after reading a recipe for sweet pineapple ravioli so I thought why not make it savory instead? I had some carnitas left over, not enough for a dish but I thought I would use it here and serve the dish as a starter. Pork was pretty much the only idea I had to marry pineapple and leafy greens, it goes so well with both!

 

Pineapple ravioli 

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 1 day to marinate and a few minutes to cook the pineapple 

oven 250C or 482F 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pineapple, peeled and cut in to thin slices
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup water
  • 1 star anise
  • 1 red chilli, split in half

Filling 

  • carnitas

Garnish

  • Chilli oil

Bring the water and sugar to a boil. Let it boil for a few minutes to get a slightly thicker consistency. Add the star anise and the chilli. Add the pineapple slices and let cool. Keep it in the fridge over night, or two to macerate.

The slices are too hard to use raw so I cooked them in the oven for a few minutes to soften them up.

I added one teaspoon of filling on a pineapple slice.

 

carnitas ravioli filling

 

Add the other pineapple slice on top to shape a ravioli and bake it for another 5-7 minutes or until the filling is warmed through.

 

Drizzle over chilli oil and serve with the crispy curly kale.

 

carnitas filled pineapple ravioli

 

I liked the pineapple as a ravioli. The chilli oil cut through the rich carnitas and the crispy curly kale added flavor and texture.

This challenge really stopped me in my tracks, thank you Angie, what a brilliant idea!

I am bringing this to the Fiesta Friday healthy recipe challenge, if you have combined these two ingredients join us and take the challenge!

 

fiestafriday-healthy-recipe-challenge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
23 Responses to “Carnitas filled pineapple ravioli with crispy kale”
  1. Brilliant Petra, pork and pineapple are a match made in heaven and the crisp kale is such a wonderful addition. This is a work of art.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you so much! The only thing I could think of to marry pineapple and leafy greens was pork, not sure how healthy it is but it was yummy 🙂 Have a great week ahead!

  2. Such an interesting combination of flavours and textures.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences and flavours with other foodies and your post and link will be published in the group round up. This month’s theme is HEALTHY STARTS including breakfast ideas, healthy recipes, or new healthy food habits for the start of 2017.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    • petra08 says:

      hi Bunny,
      I am so sorry for late response! I am glad you like the recipe and thank you for the very kind invite to join the Growing Edge I would love to join you, thank you 🙂

  3. Sandhya says:

    What a brilliant idea Petra! The pineapple ravioli looks amazing.

  4. This is super creative! But then again, we expect nothing less from you! I think this is the definition of thinking outside the box 😄😄 And btw, pork is not unhealthy. Nowadays it’s pretty lean actually. The kale and pineapple balance it out anyway. Bravo, Petra! 👏👏

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      I think you are right and anything with pineapple, and of course kale! I am glad you like it! It wasn’t too sweet and I will absolutely make it again. Thank you again for challenging us, I love it! 🙂 have a lovely week ahead! x

  5. I love the idea of pineapple ravioli and perfect with a savory filling. How did you cut the pineapple so thin? Great recipe 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      Thank you! I thought pork would be able to stand up to the pineapple and it worked! I cut the pineapple with my fillet knife, needless to say there were quite a few not so perfect slices! I wish I had a meat slicer! 🙂

      • Even though I have sharp knives (love my santoku) I’m not sure I could cut them so perfect. I don’t have a meat slicer either. I wonder if partially freezing them would work?

        • petra08 says:

          hi Judi
          It might help firm the pineapple up if partly frozen, it might have helped that I bought a pineapple that wasn’t quite so soft. I took all the half slices, and too thick ones and made them in to a salsa! 🙂

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, wow, wow! This is just darned amazing, Petra! As always, your recipes are so creative and over the top with flavours and textures that are beyond my imagination! Well done, my friend! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      Thank you so much! The carnitas goes with pretty much anything but I did love it with pineapple and macerating the pineapple with star anise and chilli added a nice warmth, I love how spices can transform a dish in surprising ways. The crispy kale is always a hit and so easy to make!
      Sorry for late reply, I hope you have a nice, chilled out Sunday and a great week ahead! 🙂

  7. Brilliant! I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, you are amazing!

  8. Wow, now I want to try all sorts of savory fillings in pineapple ravioli. And crispy kale? Love it and it’s a power house of nutrition.
    Tracey

    • petra08 says:

      hi Tracey
      Thank you for stopping by and your kind comment! There are lots of fillings that would be great, they just need a bit of spice to “stand up” to the pineapple, am thinking a chunky bean or chick pea filling would be nice 🙂 The curly kale is always a favorite no matter what else I put on the table this always goes first! Have a great Sunday 🙂

  9. Jhuls says:

    A great recipe for the challenge, Petra! Wohoo!

  10. mrsladynofohio says:

    Wow so creative.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.