Soy mince and chickpeas with beetroot

Soy chickpea spinach dish with beetroot

I had been busy making pasta and flat breads for the market all day and forgotten all about dinner. By the time I realized it was time to eat I was too hungry to even think about going to the shops and get something. Even a take away would take too long so I raided the cupboards and found a bag of Granose Soy Mix. I had it there as a back up and today was the day.

 

I had never tried it so I followed the instructions and pored over boiling water to let it swell and tasted it. It was soft and didn’t taste of much but I thought I could make a nice dinner from it.

 

The day before I had picked some beetroots and the first onion from the allotment. The weather has been really hot and all the vegetables are growing like mad. I picked a few beetroots and some onions.

 

beetroot and red onion

 

 

Soy mince and chickpeas with beetroot

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 15 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 bag of Granose Soy mix, 100 gram
  • 1 tin of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • a good handful of spinach, sliced
  • the green tops of 1 red onion or 3 spring onions, sliced
  • 1 tbsp ginger, peeled and cut fine julienne
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 1/2 dl or 3/4 cup spicy tomato sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 fresh beetroot, peeled and sliced
  • oil for cooking

Heat oil in a pan and pan fry the soy mix and the chickpeas. Add the onion, ginger, garlic, cumin seeds and turmeric and fry for a few more minutes. Add the tomato sauce and let it simmer for 10 minutes. Taste with salt and pepper. Add the spinach just before serving, stir it in to the dish. The heat from the dish will wilt the spinach by the time the dish has reached the table.

Garnish with the sliced beetroot and serve.

 

Soy chickpea spinach dish with beetroot

 

Soy chickpea spinach dish with beetroot

 

It was a perfect weeknight meal, super quick and full of flavor, the soy mix just needed a little helping hand. I will make sure I keep a bag of this in my cupboard for times like this. It was a light dish and the spinach and beetroots gave it flavor and texture.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Soy mince and chickpeas with beetroot”
  1. spineat says:

    Looks very delicious! And it is so cute decorated 🙂

  2. DEE says:

    Will definitely try this… and have most of the ingredients though sadly not fresh from allotment or vegetable patch in the garden! Love the combinations of colour and tastes. DEE

    • petra08 says:

      hello Dee
      I hope you give it a go! It will work with just a little fresh spinach and beetroot! Super quick and easy, perfect in the heat! 🙂 x

  3. I am v. scared of soy – won’t touch it with a barge pole: https://draxe.com/is-soy-bad-for-you/

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jo
      I will have to look in to this. I don’t eat soy very often but use it sometimes instead of meat or fish. I believe there might not be a 100% conclusive research on the effect of eating soy with many different inputs, well worth looking in to and keeping an eye on.

  4. Megala says:

    Beautiful presentation!

Leave a Reply

