Onglet steak with loaded fries

Steak with garlic and thyme

A friend of mine was talking about how he had taken his father out for steak. He tried to steer him away from his usual cuts, fillet and sirloin and instead try a new cut. In the end they tried some bavette and onglet steak and it proved to be successful.

I always buy skirt steak when I see it at The Black Pig Butchers, I love the texture and like my friend, prefer the flavor. This week they had onglet steak, also called hanger steak and I couldn’t resist it. Usually they have skirt steak, bavette and feather steak but I have never seen the onglet before, but I might just have missed it. Once I saw it I got in the mood for a steak night!

 

The onglet sits in the lower end of the belly and it is usually served rare or medium in order not to be tough. The meat has long fibers and when cooked cut it against the grain. Cooked right it is an absolutely delicious cut of meat.

 

onglet steak

 

Onglet is the French name for this cut, as mentioned above in English it is called hanger steak, the Italians call it lombatello but I think the Spanish solomillo de pulmón is my favorite, it has a nice flair to it.

 

Steak is delicious but it is also about the side dishes and I have had a craving for loaded fries for a while. I had an aha moment and thought I would make the fries myself. I am not sure why but I have never done this before, why not is another question!

The fries would take the longest so I started with them.

 

Baked loaded fries

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 35-40 minutes

oven 180C or 356F

serves 4

Ingredients

The potatoes

  • 24 baby potatoes, cut in to quarters
  • 2 tbsp oil, I used rapeseed
  • 1 tsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed

Garnish

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup crispy bacon (optional, or more if you wish)
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 2 dl or 1 cup of Manchego cheese grated fine
  • 1-2 dl soured cream

Mix the oil with the sesame seeds, paprika, salt, pepper and crushed garlic in a bowl. Add the quartered potatoes and make sure they are covered with the spice mixture. Spread them out on an oven tray and roast them until crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.

Once cooked place them on a serving platter and cover with cheese, the cheese will melt from the heat of the potatoes, add soured cream, red onion and crispy bits of bacon.

 

bacon loaded fries

 

Mix a little just before serving so make sure every piece of potato gets a little soured cream and cheese on it.

 

Whilst the potatoes are cooking prepare the rest. I had a heart of cabbage from the allotment that I cut in to wedges, pan fried and sauteed in apple juice until soft.

 

sauteed sweetheart cabbage

Brown the cabbage in a little oil, salt and pepper both sides and then add just enough apple juice to cover the base of the pan, add a lid and let cook on low heat until the cabbage is cooked through.

 

A friend did a truffle butter and I started on the steak. Any steak of your preference would be delicious, I just got excited about a slightly more unusual and flavorsome cut this time.

 

Pan fried onglet steak 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes in the pan + 15 minutes resting 

serves 3

Ingredients

  • 500 gr or 17.6 oz steak
  • 8 cloves of garlic, lightly crushed
  • 4 sprigs of thyme
  • rapeseed oil
  • butter
  • salt
  • pepper

Trim the meat of any excess fat. Add salt and pepper. Let the meat stand for about 10 minutes if you have the time. For years I learnt that you should salt the meat just before placing it in the pan but then I read about a guy who salted his meat as long as a day before cooking it. It draws out moisture but it also starts to break down the meat, making it even more tender and the salt brings out the flavor. I tried it and have not looked back since.

Heat oil and butter in a frying pan and when hot add the meat. Cook it for 4-5 minutes on each side. I like my meat medium so I was leaning more towards the 5 minutes per side. Whilst cooking add the garlic and thyme. Make sure the meat is browned all around and then rest it loosely covered with tin foil for at least 15 minutes.

garlic and thyme fried steak

 

 

Slice the steak against the grain and plate up with the garlic.

 

Steak with garlic and thyme

 

I was so hungry by the time the steak was done there wasn’t enough time to plate up. I put everything on serving plates and we helped ourselves. The loaded fries were just as satisfying, if not more than the ones you buy in a restaurant, perhaps because I could add lots of Manchego, one of my favorite cheese, or add lots of soured cream and extra onion? It could also be the spices on the potatoes, I am actually not sure but it worked.

The flavor and the texture of the onglet was delicious and it was a great steak dinner.

I am bringing this to Angie’s Fiesta Friday. I am arriving late this time but didn’t want to miss it! She has two lovely co hosts, Ai, Ai Made It For You and Juhls, The Not So Creative Cook.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
21 Responses to “Onglet steak with loaded fries”
  1. Becky Ellis says:

    Yum! This looks so delicious! Thank you for sharing your recipe.

  2. What a GORGEOUS plate of steak! Happy FF!

  3. Sumith says:

    Loved this hanger steak. Beautiful share Petra.

  4. Jhuls says:

    I have a fear of cooking steak so I’d make sure to enjoy this one from you. 😀 Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday #177.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      Oh! I will make sure to save some extra for you! 🙂 Thank you for co hosting and have a great rest of the week!

  5. chefkreso says:

    Cabbage and apple juice sound so creative and tasty!

  6. Just enough garlic to make me happy. Loaded fries? Yes please.
    Tracey

  7. This looks divine and the potatoes throw me over the edge! I’ve never cooked with Rapseed oil but, I have heard of it.

  8. Rita says:

    Angie – Nice recipe – thanks (I would like to host Fiesta Friday someday)

  9. petra08 says:

    Hi Jack
    Glad you like the steak, thank you for the mention 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] are having friends over, or you just want something more exotic, Petra at Food Eat Love has this onglet steak with loaded fries.  This will take you 10 to 15 minutes to prepare, and you can make yourself a great salad while […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.