Love thy brunch, poached egg, whipped feta and avocado salsa

poached egg on avocado salsa with whipped feta and pancetta

As far back as I can remember I was told how important it is to eat breakfast and for just as long I remember never being hungry in the morning. Perhaps my body takes a bit longer to wake up but as a result I have always loved brunch.

 

When I am home I like brunch, a lazy, late breakfast and I love vegetables and always try to eat as many as possible, starting at brunch time when I can.

I had a look around and wanted to use what I already had at home and settled for egg and an avocado salsa, a great combination.

 

Avocado salsa 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 ripe avocado, peeled and cubed
  • 1 good handful of cherry tomatoes, chopped
  • 3 spring onions/scallions, sliced
  • 1/2 crushed clove of garlic
  • the juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp chopped coriander
  • 1/2 red chilli, chopped fine
  • 1 pinch of sea salt

Mix all of the ingredients and let stand for a few minutes for the flavours to mix.

 

I try to always have some feta cheese at home and found a pack in the fridge that needed to be used and made some whipped feta cheese to go with the salsa and the egg. As a devoted cheese lover there is almost always room for cheese.

 

Whipped feta 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 200 gr or 7 oz feta cheese
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup of buttermilk
  • juice of 1/4 lemon or more to taste

Place everything in a blender and blend until smooth and you have blended air in to the cheese mix.

 

Poach an egg and serve it with the salsa, whipped feta cheese, crispy pancetta and a piece of toast.

 

poached egg on avocado salsa with whipped feta and pancetta

 

Serve the remaining whipped feta cheese on the side, it is delicious on toast and we ate almost all of it in one go. I am still dubious about breakfast most days but brunch, yes please!

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Love thy brunch, poached egg, whipped feta and avocado salsa”
  1. How lovely! As I eat my breakfast around 6.30am every morning, I tend to be hungry again by 10.30 so all my lunches becomes brunches 🙂

Leave a Reply

