Burnt green chilli harissa and rack of venison

torched green chilli and spring onion

I was pottering around with the TV in the background with a food program, not unusual in our house, and all of the sudden I heard green harissa. That caught my attention and the question of how and a harissa is defined made me stop and sit down to be able to give it my full attention.

The response was chilli, garlic and spices, olive oil, cumin and caraway seeds were mentioned as a base. I was intrigued and decided to make my own green harissa. I almost never use green chillies. I don’t dislike them, I think I just like red chillies more.

 

I spent a couple of days thinking about the green harissa and I thought it might go with a rack of venison that I just got. The harissa needs 24 hours in the fridge for the flavors to come together and mature.

I did eat some straight away but it tasted a lot more the following day.

 

Burnt green chilli harissa

preparation time 10 minutes

cooking time 0 minutes, 24 hours resting time

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 green chilli
  • 2 spring onions/scallions
  • 6 walnuts, chopped and toasted
  • 6 hazelnuts, chopped and toasted
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, more to taste
  • 1 heaped tsp toasted cumin
  • 1 heaped tsp tasted fennel seeds
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed
  • a handful of roughly chopped coriander
  • 20 tarragon leaves
  • sea salt to taste

Start by torching the green chilli and the spring onions.

 

blow torching green chilli

 

torched green chilli and spring onion

 

Chop up the chilli and spring onion. Place in a blender with the remaining ingredients and blend until fairly smooth. Taste with sea salt.

 

I asked Lizzy at The Black Pig Butchers to separate the ribs from the loin. I cured the ribs with chilli, I didn’t have a lot of time to cure the venison. I would usually have cured it for 24 hours but I only had 6 hours. Last time I cured ribs of venison I used wild fennel flowers, this time I used chilli as the green house is full of them at the moment. I cooked them according to this recipe, replacing the wild fennel flowers with chilli.

I only cured the ribs and then pan fried the loin, there is plenty of time to do both and I find it worth doing.

 

Chilli Cured ribs of venison

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 6-24 hours for curing, about 3 ½ hours for cooking 

oven 120C or 250Ffor 3 hours and then 225C or 440F for about 15 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 rack of venison ribs
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup demerara sugar
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup salt
  • 2 red chillies, sliced

Start with the cure. Mix the salt, sugar and chillies. Cover the ribs and make sure you rub it in. Cover the ribs with clingfilm and leave in the fridge. Turn after half time.

Rinse the ribs and pat them dry.

Place on an ovenproof tray and start by roasting them on low heat. Turn the heat up during the last 15-20 minutes. The ribs are better if they can rest, ideally no less than 30 minutes.

 

cured venison ribs

 

I wanted the loin of venison to rest for 40 minutes to make sure it would be melt in your mouth.

 

Rosemary pan fried loin of venison

preparation time 5  minutes 

cooking time 4-5 minutes pan frying the loin and 15 minutes in the oven, 40 minutes resting time

oven 160C or 320F 

serves 4 with the ribs 

Ingredients

  • 1 loin of venison, trimmed
  • 1 bunch of cherry tomatoes
  • 2 sprigs of rosemary
  • salt and pepper
  • butter for pan frying
  • vegetable oil, I use rapeseed oil, for pan frying

Salt and pepper the loin of venison.

Heat the butter and oil in a frying pan. Add the venison once the butter starts to brown and pan fry it on all sides. Add rosemary for flavor and the cherry tomatoes just before putting the pan in the oven.

 

loin of venison

 

Place the frying pan in the oven for 15 minutes for perfectly pink, medium venison.

Let the meat rest, covered, for minimum 30 minutes.

 

Slice the meat and serve. I had made oven fries as well to go with the meal.

 

Rack of venison

 

I didn’t take any photos of the harissa as we were so hungry I didn’t think of it!

 

The following day I bought a couple of tuna steaks that I seared, sliced and served with the green harissa.

 

Seared tuna and green harissa

 

It was delicious. The very last bit of harissa went in to little filo parcels with some silken tofu and little cubes of venison meat.

 

filo stuffed with venison

 

The green burnt chilli harissa was very subtle and absolutely delicious. I couldn’t help but wonder why I hadn’t done it sooner and I will absolutely do it again.

 

I am bringing this to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. If you have cooked something come and join us. If you need inspiration or just love to read inspiring recipes and look at delicious photos, this is the place for you! Co hosts this week are Shinta, Caramel Tinted Life, and Diann, of Goats and Greens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Burnt green chilli harissa and rack of venison”
  1. Lovely! I’ve made green harissa but none like this, or with nuts in, it sounds fab!

  2. mistimaan says:

    Loved your good recipe Petra…..hope I can taste it 🙂

  3. Jhuls says:

    Never heard of green harissa before, but it sounds something that I’d love to try! Fabulous! Thanks for sharing, Petra and happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      I had never heard of green harissa but it sounded, and looked so nice I knew I had to try it! Happy Fiesta Friday and I hope you have a great week ahead!

  4. Shinta says:

    You always have the most innovative and original recipes, Petra! I would have never thought of a green chilli harissa. The venison looks delicious too. Thank you for sharing it with us at FF!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Shinta
      Thank you so much for your very kind comment! The venison is so delicious and rack of venison is my favorite cut! Thank you for co hosting the lovely FF! 🙂

  5. jyo says:

    Sounds interesting and delicious 😋👌

  6. This sounds wonderful Petra and so flavorful! I can think so a lot of uses for it.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely dish indeed. I particularly admire your venison skills.

  8. Mmmmmh~! Zhis one sounds absolutely delish! I love venison. I love Harissa in all shapes and sizes. Why did I never think of bringing those two together? *sigh* Thanks for the inspiration!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Diana
      I am so glad you like it! I agree Harissa is so great, I love them all except the super market ones, I think I have tried all of them so decided to make my own 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.