Julianna’s delicious Japanese Curry

Sometimes I can see a recipe and it seems to be calling out to me. I always read through the ingredients and then I know if I have to make it or not. Saying that I have a massive pile of printed and saved as pdf files saved of “must cook” recipes. It usually takes some time before I get around to actually doing them but when I saw Julianna’s Japanese curry I got so excited and I knew I would have to make it and sooner rather than later.

The list of ingredients looked amazing, as I was reading I could almost taste the flavours and I got to make my own curry powder!

 

It was only a few days after I read it that I made it. I looked through the list of ingredients and bought what I didn’t have and as I was getting everything out I realised I had missed a few things so here is my slightly revised version. I would have followed it to a tee as it already looked perfect and please check her recipe out here. Julianna’s blog is filled with delicious recipes that always leaves me starving, regardless if I have just eaten or not! The curry powder is delicious and takes no time at all to do. The curry powder recipe is here, I omitted the cardamon.

 

Spices for the curry 18Feb_SpiceMixture

 

Juliannas Japanese chicken curry, slightly revised

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15-20 minutes 

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 800 gram or 28.2 oz boneless and skinless chicken thighs
  • salt & freshly ground pepper
  • 4 tbsp oil, I used rapeseed
  • 1 onion
  • 1/2 large mango
  • 1/4 aubergine
  • 2 tbsp Japanese curry powder
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 3 crushed garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 4 dl or 2 cups of chicken stock
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 tbsp citrus vinegar
  • 2 good handfuls of fresh spinach

Slice the onion, cube the aubergine and the mango. Rinse the spinach and set aside with the mango until last minute.

Cut any visible fat of the chicken thighs and slice them. Add salt and pepper and an fry them in a little oil until lightly browned. Remove from the pan and set aside.

Reduce the heat and add onion and pan fry until the soften, add the aubergine and fry a few minutes more.

18Feb_FryingVeg

 

Add the ginger and garlic, the curry powder and the flour. Let cook out for a couple of minutes. Add the chicken stock, bring to a boil and add the chicken and mango. Let simmer for 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through. When one minute remains add the vinegar, add more if you wish but start with one tablespoon. I had bought a citrus vinegar that I wanted to try and it was heavenly in the curry.

 

18Feb_VeloursAgumes

 

Add the spinach, make sure it is covered. Turn the heat off and let stand until just wilted. garnish with chopped coriander. I served the first batch with noodles, just delicious.

 

18Feb_JapaneseCurry&Noodles

 

The curry is sensational. It is light, fragrant and simply delicious. It is in fact so delicious I did it again a couple of days later, this time with quinoa and rice and I added some sliced endive last minute for some extra crunch. It is silly to say but I can’t wait to make it again!

 

18Feb_JapaneseCurry&Rice

 

The pickle cucumber was so good with it. The curry powder is so easy and rewarding to so, next time I will make a double batch. Julianna, the curry was even better than I thought, wow!

 

 

 

 

Comments
11 Responses to “Julianna’s delicious Japanese Curry”
  1. Loretta says:

    It looks delicious Petra, I don’t think I’ve ever seen Japanese curry powder, but your recipe is right there, so I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      The curry powder was so easy to make and so delicious! I am already thinking of whom I can invite for dinner so I can make it again 🙂 I have only had Japanese curry in Japanese restaurants but never even thought of making it myself! Not quite sure why 🙂

  2. Corina says:

    I love curries so this sounds wonderful. I don’t know much about Japanese ones though so maybe it’s time for me to start experimenting with something a little different.

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Corina
      This was my first Japanese curry and it was even better than I thought, a great place to start 🙂 I hope you will make it and of course that you will like it! 🙂

  3. I’ve heard of Japanese Curry but never tried. This sounds fantastic!!

  4. xoamys says:

    Hi! Sounds amazing =)

    xx Hanna

    http://xoamys.com/

  5. chefjulianna says:

    Wow, Petra! I love your rendition of this! I adore eggplant and mango, so I will try your version the next time that I make the recipe! I am excited by your citrus vinegar too! I am going to go on a search for it!! Thanks so much for letting me know that you made it! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna

      Oh am so glad you like it! I couldn’t believe I didn’t have an apple at home but the mango was delicious 🙂 I have already ordered more spices so can make it again, such a gorgeous dish 🙂 x

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Eat Love also has these great looking recipes; Julianna’s delicious Japanese curry, a vegetarian coconut curry in a hurry, (I am certain my friend from SoCal could try this […]



Leave a Reply

