Pickled cockels

The other day I woke up and I felt like cooking, something that would take some time and the word that came to mind was flimsy. I am not sure if that is just strange or not but I went out to buy some food and fish was in front of mind as I wanted it to be light.The fishmonger always sells cockels. I love shellfish and they have a great taste and texture. Saying that I have never done anything but used them when I make seafood chowder.

 

Cockels are quite pretty little things and I thought they would be great as an amuse bouche. The other thing the fishmonger had was brown shrimp. They are tiny and more comonly used to make potted shrimp, a traditional English dish made with brown shrimp, plenty of butter mace and some cayenne pepper, best eaten on toast.

I am not sure I would have the patience to peel that many brown shrimps as they are quite fiddly, I would say that they fit in to the flimsy category for sure. Despite being so small they have a wonderful flavour and I wanted to use them as well.

 

Brown shrimp31Oct_BrownShrimp

 

Pickled cockels on beetroot with brown shrimp and avocado

preparation time 15 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes 

serves 4 as an amuse bouche

Ingredients

  • 1/2 pint of shelled cockels
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup white wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup steamed broadbeans
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 spring onion/scallion, sliced
  • 1 green chilli, de seeded and sliced
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cooked beetroot
  • peeled brown shrimp

Rinse the cockels to make sure there is no sand in them. Place the vinegar, salt and sugar in a pan and heat up until the salt and sugar has dissolved. Take the bring off the heat and pour over the cockels. Let stand until you are ready to plate up.

Place the avocado flesh, the lime juice and olive oil in a blender and mix until smooth. Add broadbeans, spring onion and the green chilli. Blend until quite smooth, add more olive oil if needed.

 

Slice the beetroot and add a small spoonful of the avocado. Dry the cockels on household tissue and place them on the beetroot slice. Garnish with brown shrimp and serve.

 

31Oct_PickleCockels1

 

31Oct_PickleCockels2

 

It was great as an amouse bouche and I did feel as if it appealed to the flimsy cooking part of me.

 

This week I completely could not decide what to bring to Fiesta Friday so in the end I decided to bring my cockel dish, as well as the black pudding dumplings, to the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. This week is has two co hosts, Kalia, GF Life 24/7 and Juhls, The Not So Screative Cook. Kalia has a great blog with delicious gluten free recipes, and Juhls, despite the name of her blog is a very talented and creative cook!

If you have cooked come and join us or just have a look and be inspired!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
8 Responses to “Pickled cockels”
  1. Jhuls says:

    Such an interesting dish, Petra. You always make the most amazing things. Oh did I say that before? We’ll I just said it again. 😀 Looks really amazing. Thank you for sharing and thanks for kind words. 🙂 Have a lovely weekend, happy FF! xx

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juhls
      Am glad you like it. I didn’t know what to d with the cockels but I knew I had to buy some! They are lovely pickled and even non seafood lovers ate this! Have a lovely weekend as well and thanks for co hosting FF! 🙂 xx

  2. Wow Petra! This is such a beautiful dish! I am sure those at your table always feel special! I’ve heard cockels before but didn’t know what it was.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julie
      Thank you so much 🙂
      I was after clams but they are hard to get here and cockels are so plentiful and cheap! They taste sort of the same and they were great pickled and is always perfect when serving up a bunch of seafood!

  3. Loretta says:

    Cockles? When I read this, my heart skipped a beat! How good these look and so very creative.

  4. Kaila says:

    I’m so glad that you brought both your cockel dish and black pudding dumplings. All our fiesta goers are so lucky! Your presentation of this dish is so beautiful, I don’t want to eat it! But, it sounds tasty as well. Happy FF, and have a wonderful weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

