Carrot flavored pasta with carrots three ways

Carrot three ways with carrot pasta, goats cheese, pumpkin seeds

I use carrot in many dishes and yet it is never the star of the dish. It is just there in the background. The other day I read a recipe with carrot purée. It was a recipe by the talented chef and blogger Joe Black and he had cooked rump of lamb.

The carrot purée caught my eye and I couldn’t stop thinking why carrot, at my table, is never the star of the dish.

This is how it started and my first thought was to make carrot flavored pasta. I thought about what to serve it with and in the end I decided on carrot three ways to go with the pasta to enhance the carrot flavor and it would also challenge me to use a single, and very humble ingredient in different ways. I thought it would go well with toasted pumpkin seeds and a crumbly goats cheese.

 

I started with the pasta. I steamed a large carrot soft and puréed it with a small knob of butter until smooth.

 

steamed carrots

 

Pass the purée through a sieve to make sure you get rid of any lumps.

 

Carrot pasta 

preparation time 20 minutes

cooking time 2-3 minutes

serves 4-5

Ingredients

  • 150 gr or 5.3 oz 00 flour
  • 50 gr or 1.76 oz semolina
  • 1 whole egg and about 1 tsp egg white
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup carrot puree
  • more flour for dusting

Mix the sifted flour and semolina. Add the egg and bring the rough together. Add the carrot purée. If the dough is too wet add more flour, a little at the time until you have a smooth dough. Work the dough for about 6 minutes to make get the gluten going.

 

carrot flavored pasta dough

 

Let the dough rest, wrapped in clingfilm, for an hour, in room temperature if you are using it the same day or it will keep in the fridge for a couple of days. Take it out of the fridge at least half an hour before using it, it is easier to handle.

 

Whilst the dough was resting I pickled some carrot.

 

Quick pickled carrot 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 0 minutes, need to stand for 10-15 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup water
  • 1 tbsp pure vinegar, 24%
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 10 thin ribbons of carrot

Mix the water, vinegar, salt and sugar and whisk until the sugar and salt has dissolved. I used the potato peeler to make the carrot shavings and added them to the mix and set aside until ready to plate up.

 

Pickled carrots

 

The third way of preparing the carrots was an idea from a dessert but I wanted to try it for this dish and I made candied carrots

 

Candied carrots

preparation time 5 minutes

cooking time 15-20 minutes

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 large carrot, peeled and sliced
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup sugar, I used demerara sugar
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup water

Bring the sugar and water to a boil and turn the heat down slightly. add the sliced carrot and let it cook for about 15 minutes or until the carrot slices are almost translucent. Remove the carrot slices from the sugar solution and place them on grease proof paper, give them a light sprinkle of crushed chilli and let them dry until you are ready to serve.

 

candied carrot

 

Cut a quarter of the pasta dough and run it through the pasta machine. Mix in some corn flour to prevent it from sticking together and set aside until you are ready to cook.

 

carrot fresh pasta

 

Toast pumpkin seeds and add salt when you can see the oil for garnish.

 

Bring plenty of salted water to a boil and add the pasta. It will boil in 2-3 minutes. Take it out of the pan and straight on to each plate. Add a little olive oil and the carrot, the purée, the pickled carrots and the candied carrot. Sprinkle over some goats cheese and pumpkin seeds. Last add some coriander and olive oil before serving.

 

Carrot three ways with carrot pasta, goats cheese, pumpkin seeds

 

I wasn’t sure at all what the dish would come out like, or taste but it was as light at a feather and if I can say it, delicious. I did this as a starter, in case it wouldn’t turn out well but it will be a main course next time.

 

I am bringing a plate of this to Angie’s brilliant Fiesta Friday. This week I am not only late, I am also co hosting. Slightly embarrassing I have to admit but the weekend flew by! I am co hosting with Ai, Ai Made it for you, a beautiful blog full of delicious recipes and photos. Come and join us for a delicious foodie party!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
15 Responses to “Carrot flavored pasta with carrots three ways”
    • petra08 says:

      hi Joe
      Thank you! And thank you for the inspiration! I love how a whole recipe came from one ingredient 🙂 Have a great week ahead!

  1. Monika says:

    I absolutely love these carrot recipe ideas, especially the pasta! So creative. I don’t actually make my own pasta, I think if I started I’d want to make it all the time and eat it all the time:)

    • petra08 says:

      hi Monika
      Thank you! Making your own pasta is super easy and when done a few times it doesn’t take long at all and you will not want to go back to store bought pasta! I was really happy with hot it turned out and think it will be dinner tomorrow night! 🙂

  2. Sandhya says:

    Petra,
    Your carrot recipe ideas and the plating is just brilliant! Happy FF. I am late bringing my salad too….see you there!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Sandhya
      Am glad I am not the only one who is late but we made it! 🙂
      Thank you so much. I am not even a pasta person but it seems I cant stop making it lately! Happy FF!

  3. Wow! Your dish looks like one from a gourmet chef! Bravo!

  4. Amazing! You are definitely the pasta queen!

  5. Carrot pasta – now, that has to be healthy and so colorful too! Gorgeous food styling Petra and I like the idea of a little chili on your candied carrots.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Judi
      I am fairly sure all that carrot made it very healthy! It was very light and I didn’t miss fish or meat at all! Thank you! 🙂

  6. You did a great job, it looks perfect and so yum..

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.