Leek tarte tatin with leek and goats cheese creme

leek tarte tatin with leek and goats cheese creme

There are some vegetables that I use in most dishes. They lend their flavor to other dishes but are never the main ingredient. Not long ago I made a recipe featuring carrots. Another vegetable that is almost never the main event are leeks.

One of my favorite soups is leek and potato soup, so simple and yet so delicious. I eat leeks raw, shredded in a sandwich, with cheese, cooked on the side and in countless dishes. This time I decided to cook leek two ways, different textures, both highlighting the gentle but distinct leek flavor.

 

Leek tarte tatin with balsamic caramel 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes + 20-25 minutes 

oven 180C or 356F

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 4 large leeks
  • puff pastry
  • oil for frying

Balsamic caramel

  • 20 gr or 0.7 oz butter
  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup sugar, I used demerara sugar
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

Garnish 

  • Leek and goats cheese puree, see recipe below
  • 3 thin slices of pancetta
  • goats cheese to crumble on top
  • crushed chili

Start by cleaning the leek and cut the white and pale green in even pieces. Place them in a frying pan and caramelize them on one side. Add a lid and steam them just soft before taking them off the heat.

 

frying leeks

 

Make the caramel in an oven proof frying pan. Place the butter and sugar in the pan and cook the caramel.

 

caramel

 

Add the balsamic vinegar and let the caramel cook for 5-8 minutes to reduce the liquid and intensify the flavor.

 

Place the leeks in the caramel.

 

cut leeks

 

Place the pastry on top. Cut a cross in the middle and bake it for 20 minutes or until the pastry sounds hollow when you tap it.

Let the tarte tatin cool and then turn it upside down on a plate.

 

leek tarte tatin

 

Whilst the tarte tatin is cooking make the leek and goats cheese creme. I used a mild goats cheese to not overpower the flavor of the leek.

 

Leek and goats cheese creme 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10 minutes or until the leeks are soft

serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 dl or 1 cup of the green of the leek, sliced
  • 2-3 tbsp goats cheese

Steam the leek until it is soft. Once steamed let it cool and remove as much water as possible. I did this by placing the leek on a clean jcloth and wring out as much water as possible.

 

steamed leek

 

I placed the cooled leek in the blender with the goats cheese and blended until smooth.

 

Cut a quarter of the slightly cooled leek tarte tatin. Add the leek creme, crumbled goats cheese and a sprinkle of chili before serving.

 

leek tarte tatin with leek and goats cheese creme

 

The leeks were absolutely the star of the dish. I added a few slices of pancetta for flavor and texture.

 

I liked this so much I am bringing it to Angie’s Fiesta Friday party, always foodie and always great! Her co host this week is the lovely Laura, Feast Wisely, have a look at her blog, it is full of delicious recipes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
21 Responses to “Leek tarte tatin with leek and goats cheese creme”
  1. Loretta says:

    I’ve started using leeks in a lot of my dishes too Petra. Your tarte tatin looks just wonderful featuring leeks as a main ingredient. I love the whole upside down picture, I could easily devour half of that.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Leek is an interesting vegetable, I find the flavor so mild and still very distinct. I prefer it raw but this was a revelation, perhaps it was the balsamic caramel! 🙂 Have a lovely weekend!

  2. So clever, must have tasted ta-daaa!

    • petra08 says:

      hi
      Thank you! It worked out better than I thought, the caramel and the leek was a great combination.
      happy weekend 🙂

  3. Happy Fiesta Friday Petra and thanks for the call out. I am so pleased to see you with a dish that heroes lovely leeks – they are a fantastic prebiotic – so can work magic for your gut health. I will be trying this when leeks are abundant again!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Laura
      Good for you and tasty, always a winner! I like leeks and wanted to just let them shine for once!
      Thank you for co hosting FF this week and enjoy the weekend 🙂

  4. This is new to me. I love how it looks after baking. extremely delicious….

  5. chefkreso says:

    I really like the combination of leek and goats cheese!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Chef Kreso
      It is a great combination, I like the tang of the goats cheese and the slight salty flavor with the sweet leek! Glad you like it. Enjoy the weekend 🙂

  6. Oh wow! Yes please!!!!!

  7. This dish looks super interesting!

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! I hope you try it, even if not with leek perhaps another vegetable. The balsamic vinegar made the caramel a bit more interesting I thought 🙂

  8. I am just swooning over this! You had me at leeks – or maybe at puff pastry – and most of all at balsamic caramel reduction! Which reminds me of the savory “gastriques” I love making! The whole thing is amazing, Petra~

  9. Shinta says:

    This dish sounds incredible! I am a fan of all thinks leek and all things balsamic….the pairing of the two is such a great idea!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Shinta
      Thank you so much. I hope you will give it a go, it works as a main course or as a side 🙂 Happy weekend x

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.