Beetroot curd and steak dumplings

The other day I got a surprise present. It wasn’t intended but somehow there was a surplus of beetroot curd. I didn’t make it so I can’t tell you the recipe, the curd came ready made in a jar and I wasn’t going to turn it down! It had a lovely colour and a delicate flavour.

 

My first thought was to make a tart but I had a packet of dim sum wrappers in my fridge and I thought I would use them instead. I was sure the colour would be nice in the wrappers. The dumplings can easily be eaten on their own as a vegetarian dumpling, I added some steak as I love the combination of beetroot and beef and I had some extra skirt steak and any excuse to use it! I wanted to make the same kind of dumplings as my black pudding dumplings as I loved the soft and the crispy wonton.

 

Beetroot and cannellini bean dumplings with steak

preparation time 15 minutes

cooking time 25-30 minutes

oven 170C or 340F and 240 or 460F

serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup cannellini beans, cooked, (I used tinned, rinsed ones)
  • 1 shallot onion, fine chopped,
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped fine
  • a pinch of sea salt
  • beetroot curd
  • 22 dim sum wrappers
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 tbsp oil for the ovenproof dish

Mash the beans roughly and then add the egg yolk, the celery, the shallot onion and a pinch of salt. Mix well and set aside until you are ready to assemble the dumplings.

Place the egg white in a bowl next to the dumplings.

Add some bean filling and the beetroot curd before brushing the edges with the egg white. Close the dumpling half way and place in an oiled oven proof dish.

Add a small teaspoon of the bean filling and then the same amount of the beetroot curd to each dumpling wrapper.

 

03Nov_DumplingFilling

 

Brush the edges with eggwhite and close them half way.

Keep making the dumplings until the dish is full. They are quite filling and about eight per person will be more than enough.

Bake the dumplings until they are golden and crispy.

 

03Nov_BakedDumplings1

 

03Nov_BakedDumplings2

 

Before serving cook the steak and let ut rest. Slice it and add a piece to each dumpling and serve with a garlicky yoghurt.

 

03Nov_Dumpling&Beef

 

I had a few wrappers left over and decided to make some ravioli as a starter with just the beetroot curd. It was a bit too loose as ravioli filling. They tasted great but they didn’t appeal to me at all in looks. They looked sort of what I would guess a jelly fish would look like if they ate beetroot! I still ate them and they tasted great, especially with butter with chilli and cracked black pepper but next time I might stick to the crispy dumplings.

 

03Nov_BeetRavioli

 

Dumplings are a little fiddly to make but worth while to make. I like when you get that nice little bite each time and it is a perfect dish for sharing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
12 Responses to “Beetroot curd and steak dumplings”
  1. You always make the most beautiful food Petra! Those dumplings are gorgeous!!

  2. Loretta says:

    So unusual Petra, so colorful and yummy! I’m sure they were absolutely divine!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Loretta
      Thank you! I just love the soft and crispy in the dumplings and beetroot was a great filling and adds a lovely colour. I can’t wait to think of more ways to fill them and it is so easy to make a big batch with plenty for everyone! 🙂

  3. Wow Petra those dumplings are just beautiful, the combination is creative and delicious. Would make an elegant addition for a dinner party.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you 🙂 What a great idea! Perhaps I can integrate them somehow to the Christmas dinner, you got me thinking now! 🙂

  4. Jenny says:

    What an interesting combination of ingredients! I can imagine the dumplings were so tasty and they look so beautiful! I love the natural color of beetroot.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Jenny
      I am glad you like them.
      I added the bean mix to get more texture and to counter the natural sweetness of the beetroot and the steak as I like it 🙂 Beetroot has a lovely colour and it livens up any plate of food!

  5. heenie says:

    so very very impressive

  6. Oh my god Petra!!! These look ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! That beetroot in the dumplings and the colours! I am inlove with everything about this dish!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Dini
      Thank you so much! I am glad you like them, the soft and the crispy is a lovely combination and beetroot is a great vegetable. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.