Light baking – Bacon and onion quiche

I have had so much on my mind lately sometimes it seems quite impossible to wind down when I get home. There is  lot going on, most good stuff but yesterday I had a million and one ideas in my head and decided that I needed to cook something, I also had a strange urge to bake. I am not at all a baker and tend to end up with more flour covering my kitchen as well as myself than in the actual dough but I decided to make a quiche, it is sort of “light” baking.

I didn’t get home until after 8 PM and stopped at the shop to pick up what I thought I was missing, eggs, some lean back bacon and some milk as they didn’t have any light cream. I love to make quiche as you can take almost any ingredients and put in it and it will come out lovely and tasty!

Bacon and Onion Quiche, serves 3 hungry people + oven on 175C time about an hour

For the pie crust

  • 2 ½ dl spelt flour (I didn’t have any wheat flour but this worked well)
  • ½ dl millet seeds
  • 125 gr butter, cubed
  • 2 tbsp finely grated Jarlsberg cheese (any cheese will do and optional)
  • 1 tbsp cold water
  • A pinch of salt and some pepper

Mix all the dry ingredients and then add the cheese and butter, mix until it forms a dough, in an ideal world let this rest for an hour. It was so late I didn’t have the time so I cooked it straight away, it works but it works even better when the dough has been rested.

I baked it for 15 minutes.

The quiche filling

  • 1 dl light creme fraiche
  • 2 d milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 paprika, cubed
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 celery stalk, chopped
  • a small handful of China rose radish sprouts (the last of them)
  • 1 ½ dl finely grated Jarlsberg cheese
  • 3 rashes of lean back bacon, the fat cut off, sliced and pre cooked
  • Salt & cracked black pepper

I mixed the creme fraiche, milk, added the eggs and then the other ingredients in to the mix and poured in to the crust. It baked for 35 minutes and came out perfect. By then it was 10 PM so slightly late but it was worth the wait!

29JanQuiche

I mixed some creme fraiche with some hot sauce and served as a cold sauce, I didn’t have any more veg or would possibly have made a tomato salad to go with it.

29JanQuicheSlice

The millet seeds adds texture to the crust and the cheese makes it slightly more brittle in lack of other words, I sometimes find that crust can get a little boring but this kept it interesting and the seeds gave a satisfying crunch. Despite the late hour it was a very satisfying meal and I could say it was great comfort food as well, perfect to take my mind of everything but dinner!

Leave a Reply

