Lobster and truffle butter ravioli

Lobster ravioli and lobster salad

I buy my eggs for the pasta at the fishmongers. The eggs have great flavor and they are bigger than anywhere else. I have asked where they are from and they are from free ranging hens at a local farm. When I went to get my eggs the other day the fishmonger had the first lobsters of the year in his shop. I knew I had to get one and smiled all the way home with my eggs and lobster.

 

lobster

 

The lobster was quite big and would be more than enough for two. I wanted to make lobster ravioli as it was time to make pasta for the market.

I started by taking the meat out. I saved the shells for a lobster broth.

 

lobster shells

 

lobster meat

 

I started with the lobster broth. There is a lot of flavor in the shells and I wanted to use them as well and not waste anything. I wanted a clear broth so it was important that it wouldn’t boil.

 

Lobster broth 

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 40 minutes roasting the shells, 3 hours for simmering and 45 minutes to reduce the broth

oven 210C or 410F

serves 6

Ingredients

  • shells of 1 lobster
  • 1 carrot, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves of garlic, lightly crushed
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup bonito flakes
  • 1 liter or 5 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable broth if wished)
  • 1 liter or 5 cups of water

Place all of the ingredients in a big pan and bring it to a boil. As soon as it boils bring the heat down to low, enough for the liquid to just move in the pan. Leave it alone for 3 hours except to skim it.

 

lobster broth and bonito flakes

 

Strain the liquid, let it strain in it’s own time or the broth might get cloudy. Once the broth is strained place it in a clean, wide pan and boil down until about 1/3 remains.

Freeze the broth that you will not use straight away.

 

I had some spinach from the allotment that I wanted to use with the lobster. I didn’t feel like using cheese in the ravioli so I decided to make truffle butter.

 

Lobster and truffle butter ravioli

preparation time 20 minutes

cooking time 2 hours for the broth and 2-3 minutes for the ravioli

oven 210C or 410F

serves 2 as a starter

Ingredients

The ravioli

  • 1 pasta dough
  • 1 lobster
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup truffle butter
  • 16 spinach leaves, steamed until just wilted

Make the pasta and cut out rounds for the ravioli. On each round place 1 wilted leaf of spinach, truffle butter and lobster.

 

lobster ravioli

 

Wet the edges lightly and glue the edges. Make sure there is no air in the ravioli and that they are sealed.

Cook the ravioli in plenty of boiling salted water.

 

I served some of the ravioli in the lobster broth with lobster meat and a few cubes of watermelon.

 

lobster and truffle ravioli in lobster broth

 

lobster and truffle ravioli in lobster broth

 

I also did a salad with avocado, lobster meat, watermelon, red onion, grapefruit and ravioli. I added a little lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil and a pinch of sea salt.

 

Lobster ravioli and lobster salad

 

Each dish works on their own and they worked really well together. It was a great way to make use of the whole lobster.

This week I am co hosting Angie’s Fiesta Friday together with the lovely Laura, Feast Wisely. Come on over and join us, I can almost guarantee that something will make you hungry as there will be lots of delicious recipes!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Lobster and truffle butter ravioli”
  1. Absolutely mouthwatering! Just the thought of the lobster is making me hungry. Love the use of watermelon in here, would never have thought of it. Thanks for cohosting! 😘

    • petra08 says:

      hi Angie
      I hope the weekend is good! The heatwave is still on going and it is such a treat.
      Am glad you like the lobster and thank you for having me as a co host, I am here, just joining a little late! 🙂 Have a great week ahead!

  2. Oh my goodness, I thought I had stepped into a world class restaurant. Lovely! Thank you for cohosting.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      Oh, thank you! What a lovely comment. I am glad you like it! I just love Fiesta Friday, no weekend is the same without it 🙂
      Have a great week ahead!

  3. chefkreso says:

    This dish is a real inspiration, thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Happy Fiesta Friday Petra and thanks for being my co-host. What a treat to use lobster in this way – very adventurous 😄

    • petra08 says:

      hello lovely co host!
      Sorry for my late arrival, it has been a manic week to say the least! Glad you like the lobster, it is always such a treat 🙂 Let’s co host!

  5. Between you and Sumith with your stunning recipes and original plating I’ve got to learn something. I’ll take lobster any day and then ravioli too…

    • petra08 says:

      hi Juju, thank you so much! 🙂 I love lobster and the ravioli was a great way to use it!
      I hope your week is good!

  6. Wow – can you make lobster any more special? I didn’t think so until I saw this! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Lobster and Truffle Butter Ravioli from Petra @ Food Eat Love […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.