Lamb Green Thai Curry

Last week one of my friends sent me a text message, asking what to do with whole, fresh almonds. I have never cooked with them but seen them in a recipe. They were then peeled and toasted whole in a pan. When we meet I was given a bag full of whole, fresh almonds! It was so nice of her to think of me, she had bought them at her local market. I have never seen them for sale and was so happy about this treat!

Saying this I wanted to do something else than toasting the almonds and as I never cooked with fresh almonds before the first thing I did was to peel one and taste it. Sure enough it does need cooking of some sort.

Fresh almonds with peel on 07April_WholeAlmond

Cutting it in half I can see that how juicy they are and how you can get almond milk from them.

07April_HalvedAlmond

The peeled almonds were beautiful 07April_PeeledAlmonds

I spent a couple of days thinking and in the end decided that I wanted a Thai Curry and use the almonds in that. One of my friends had an assignment a few years ago, she had to pick five friends and cook a dish that reflected their personality. I was lucky to be one of the five she chose even if I perhaps decided not to analyse the flavours vs. my personality! The curry she did for me has the best balance between the hot and sour I have found so far and I make it on a regular basis. It is just delicious. It is well worth making your own Thai Curry paste.

Start with the rice and whilst that is cooking, I used a mix of brown and wild rice, cooking time 45 minutes, whilst that was cooking I did the green curry.

Thai Green Curry paste, serves 4, prep time about 10 minutes

  • 8 spring onions, sliced
  • 3 green chilies, sliced
  • 4 limes, zest and juice
  • about 3 cm ginger, peeled and sliced
  • 5 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
  • Parsley, roughly chopped
  • Coriander, chopped
  • 1 whole bag/plant of fresh basil leaves
  • 6 dried kafir lime leaves

Place all the ingredients in a pestle and mortar or in the blender until it becomes a quite loose paste. It smells wonderful from the herbs and the lime.

07April_ThaiPaste

Thai Green Curry, serves 4

  • Pak Choy, sliced and separate the leaves from the stem
  • 1 carrot, cut julienne
  • Fresh almonds, peeled
  • 1 celery stick, peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion, cut
  • mushrooms, quartered and pre cooked
  • Corns from 1 sweetcorn
  • broccoli tender stem stems (I used the florets the day before)
  • Thai Green curry paste
  • neck of lamb fillet, sliced thin
  • Coconut milk, one light one regular can

Open the coconut tins and from the regular put the white in a bowl on the side and use the clear liquid. The harder white will be used later.

Place the milk in a pan with the curry paste and when it starts to simmer add the veg. All but the crispy part of the pak choy, to be added later to keep it crispy. I set the timer to 10 minutes and added the sliced neck of lamb, let simmer. I have made this curry with chicken, prawns and salmon but lamb is my favourite. When it is almost done add the last of the coconut, this will make it creamy and add coconut flavour, and serve with the rice.

07April_Veg

07April_SlicedLamb

The almonds were delicious in the curry and if I ever find them I will make sure to buy some, thank you Melanie! In celebration of the weekends sunshine I decided that it was time to celebrate spring and had a bottle of rose, Wolf to go with the curry, any excuse!

07April_ThaiCurryDinner

I did a fruit salad for dessert making the meal very healthy and delicious, fresh fruits with just a touch of honey.

I entered this to Karen’s fab Lavender and Lovage, – Herbs on Saturday and Javelin Warriors always great challenge Made with Love MondaysherbsonsaturdayMadeWithLove

 

Comments
9 Responses to “Lamb Green Thai Curry”
  1. Those almonds do look lovely, not seen fresh ones before. Great idea for how to use them!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline

      they were so nice cooked (a little harsh raw but I had to taste them!), I will make sure I keep a look out for them as they were delicious!

  2. K Donkey says:

    As usual this recipe is inspiring….I love Thai curry to the point I don’t eat much else when I go to a Thai restaurant – will make this before I go back to Dubai – seeing as I’ve got a well equipment kitchen

    • petra08 says:

      You seem to make great food with such a limited kitchen! I could not do it!
      Well worth making your own green curry paste but I am the same as you, it is one of my absolute Thai favorites!:)

  3. Wow, I’ve never seen raw, uncooked almonds before. That’s amazing, and love the detailed photos – I had no idea they were so juicy! This curry sounds delicious, Petra, and I love the use of lamb! Awesome post and thanks so much for sharing!

    • petra08 says:

      hi
      thank you so much, I had never seen fresh almonds before either but they are delicious. Sorry it was lamb twice in a row, something different next time I promise! And I will search for the coconut milk!

  4. Karen says:

    Stunning entry thanks, and thanks for being such a wonderful supporter of Herbs on Saturday! Karen

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 8. LAMB GREEN THAI CURRY by Petra at Food Eat Love: […]



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.