Crispy pulled duck and glazed pork with kimchi mash

A friend of mine is doing a short movie on a topic that most of us might never see and hopefully never experience but that is there, like the black side of society. The movie is about sex trafficking, a horrible and very lucrative trade that is on the rise. You can find more information about the movie Albert and Elizabeta on Facebook. The creepy thing about sex trafficking is that it is all around us without being visible to most of us. In conjunction with the film there is a support for Ella’s Home, a charity for trafficked women and to raise awareness. If there is anything at all that you can do, no matter where you are and how much or little it may be I am sure all support will be welcome.

 

There was a fund raising event locally for the movie and for different charities. We got tickets and I decided to make some nibbles for friends before we were off. I have to admit I didn’t have too much time to plan the nibbles beforehand but the day before I spotted some duck legs and thought pulled, crispy duck would be nice. I still have some of the small, round squashes so I made some hummus, a little different from last time. The duck and the hummus went very well together.

The butcher had a nice surprise, I spotted pork cheeks, only six but I knew I had to buy them. As I had time on my side I decided to cook as much as possible, low and slow in the ovens and just sit back.

 

I dried some chilles in the oven whilst the food was cooking.

 

11Oct_DriedChilli

 

I had bought a pomegranate, they are so pretty and I love the fresh flavour.

 

11Oct_Pommegranate

 

I roasted the squash with the duck.

 

Round squash hummus

preparation time 5 mins

cooking time 35-40 mins

oven 150C or 300F

serves 2-4 or as a dip

Ingredients

  • 4 small round squashes or 1/2 butternut squash
  • 1 tsp of cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • 1 tsp seasalt
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1 tin of chickpeas
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 1 garlic clove, roughly chopped
  • the zest and juice of 1 lemon

Cut the squash in to wedges, add oil and spices, salt and mix. Place in an oven tray and bake until soft, for 30-40 minutes. Let cool.

 

11Oct_RoastedSquash

 

Remove the peel and add to a blender with the chickpeas and the chick pea juice. Add the remaining ingredients and mix, it is just as good a little roughly mixed but this time I wanted it smooth to contrast the crispy duck.

 

Crispy pulled duck

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 2.5 hr 

oven 150C or 300F

serves 4 as a starter or it could be one hungry man portion

Ingredients

  • 2 duck legs
  • fresh rosemary
  • salt and pepper

Rinse and pat dry the duck legs. Place the fresh rosemary in an oven pan. Add salt and pepper to the duck legs and place on top. Cook in the oven for 2.5 hours and the duck will be crispy and delicious on the outside and moist and tender on the inside. It is a super easy way to cook crispy duck with minimal effort.

 

11Oct_Duck

 

When the duck is cooked let it cool, you might want to remove some fat with a paper towel if you don’t eat it straight away. I pulled the duck with two forks  and set aside until it was time to serve.

 

Cooked, crispy duck legs11Oct_CookedDuckLeg

 

I served the crispy, pulled duck on top of my squash hummus with pomegranate seeds and some really good olive oil and roasted flat breads.

 

11Oct_Hummus&PulledDuck

 

 

I did a pork belly a while back and the glaze was amazing. This time I had pork cheeks, they need some low and slow cooking but a lot less time but they would be perfect with the glaze. Here is the full recipe for the pork belly, I started on step 3 for the pork cheeks as described below.

 

Prosecco and hot sauce glazed pork cheeks

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 2.5 hr 

oven 140C or 290F

serves 2 as a main or 4 as a starter 

Ingredients

  • 6 pork cheeks, meat only
  • 4 dl  or 2 cups cold water
  • 3 dl  or 1 1/2 cup prosecco or champange
  • 2 dl  or 1 cup sugar, I used demerara, raw cane sugar

For the glaze

  • 1 dl or 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 4 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 piece of fresh ginger, grated, about 1 tbsp

Trim the pork cheeks if necessary and keep them whole.


11Oct_PorkCheeks

 

In a an oven proof pan add the water, prosecco and sugar, bring to a boil until the sugar has dissolved. Add the pork cheeks.

 

11Oct_Pan

 

Place in the oven for 2 hours with the lid on. Mix the ingredients for the glaze and set aside. When cooked it will look like this.

 

11Oct_CookedPorkCheeks

 

Remove the meat and rest it on the side. Place the pan on the cooker, add the glazing ingredients and boil down to a syrup consistency. Gently break up the meat and add it back to the glaze.

 

11Oct_GlazedPorkCheeks

 

I served it with cauliflower and kimchi mash and it was a great mix. If left on my own I might just have eaten all the pork and the glaze, next time I will make a double batch!

 

Cauliflower and kimchi mash

preparation time 10 minutes 

cooking time 15 minutes 

serves 2

Ingredients

  • I small cauliflower head or 1/2 large
  • 2 potatoes
  • 3 heaped tbsp kimchi
  • salt and white pepper to taste

Peel the potatoes and cut the cauliflower in to fairly large florets. If the leaves looks good use them as well. Quarter the potatoes and place all in a pan with cold water and salt. Bring to a boil and it will be ready then everything is cooked through.

Chop the kimchi rough to add before serving

 

05Oct_Kimchi

 

Plate up the cauliflower mash with the pork cheek meat. Add some cooling cucumber, fresh parsley and a couple of pomegranate seeds. The pomegranate and cucumber will help cut through the rich glaze and the slight heat.

 

11Oct_Pork&Mash

 

Elaine brought some roasted cherry tomato and goats cheese puffs, we are such a good team!

 

11Oct_TomatoPuffs

 

It was all enjoyed before heading off to the fund raising event. We weren’t quite sure what to expect but they had pulled together amazing artists and a very successful art auction.

 

I am bringing the nibbles to the best foodie party around, Fiesta Friday! Hosted by the talented Angie who brought cakes with the intriguing name The Impossible Chocoflan! Check it out and come and join us if you haven’t already. Happy Weekend! Angie was, for this Fiesta Friday joined by the very talented co hosts Julianna/Foodie on Board and Hilda/AlongTheGrapevine both super talented cooks/bloggers so head over for a look and I am sure that you, like me, will get very hungry as well as inspired!

FoodFiestaFriday

Comments
21 Responses to “Crispy pulled duck and glazed pork with kimchi mash”
  1. What a beautiful dish! I believe it would be the perfect comfort food on a chilly day.

    • petra08 says:

      Thank you! I think you are right! And it is so nice when things are cooking in the oven when it is getting colder outside 🙂

  2. Petra, you have been busy!! What an amazing array of dishes but those pigs cheeks look amazing!! Interesting way to cook off those duck legs – low and slow – I like that!! Congratulations on your feature and Happy Fiesta Friday!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Selma
      Thank you. After a bit of a foodie dry spell I can’t seem to stop thinking about food now! As I am working more from home it is easier to cook, especially slow cook in the oven as I am here anyway! The duck legs are so nice and as far as duck goes they are fairly healthy 🙂 Happy FF!

  3. yum this looks so good, I’ve never had pork cheeks before, but duck is one of my favourite meats! Definitely a worthy and important cause you were attending a fundraising for – thanks for bringing it to our attention

    • petra08 says:

      hi Michelle
      Thank you 🙂 If you come across pork cheeks, you really just want the meat, there is a lot of fat surrounding them, it makes for the most amazing crackling but it isn’t for the faint hearted. If you can get the meat only it is delicious, cook them low and slow and you will have a lovely, fall apart porky goodness! It is one of the best part of the pork. Duck is great isn’t it? So much flavour.
      It is sadly a cause that needs attention and all the help possible. Happy FF! 🙂

  4. Hilda says:

    Petra, these dishes are all first-rate in my books. I must see if I can get pork cheeks somewhere, and always on the look-out for good duck – you have so inspired me. And btw I would save every greasy ounce of that wonderful duck fat – it makes the best fried potatoes, and is supposed to be very good for you too!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Hilda

      I have heard that duck fat is supposed to be one of the better fats and this is nice, all infused with rosemary from the cooking. I am so glad you like the recipes. Pork cheeks are such a treat. I would eat them more often if I could get my hands on them, so much flavour but hard to get. Mmmm am now thinking of crispy roast potatoes! 🙂

  5. I am crazy about pork cheeks, they are infact the only part of pork I love! I have to try out your recipe as soon as I get my hands on some pork cheeks! You are a fabulous cook!!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Naina
      Thank you so much 🙂
      Pork cheeks are such a fantastic part of the pork but hard to find sometimes. I always feel I have to buy them if I come across them! I hope you find some. Happy FF 🙂

  6. Amazing, what a great line up and I love the duck, must try to make it that way. It looks wonderful, what a feast.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Suzanne
      Thank you 🙂 The duck is delicious this way, if served as a main course allow for 2 legs/pp. It is so easy as it cooks itself!

  7. This is an impressive array of diverse foods to put together Petra. Your squash hummus is similar to mine but you included chick peas. It looks yummy. I have never tried pork cheeks but have enhpjoyed them in restaurants. They are so delicious. Mario Battali made them famous in the USA. Your friends certainly are a lucky bunch. I read that ISIS brings in 1-3 Milkion dollars per day to fund their terroristic activiites and human trafficking is one fo their biggest money makers. Disturbing. I will hope to find this documentary in our area.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Joanne

      Thank you and am glad you like it! If you come across pork cheeks they are so cheap and utterly delicious. They cook themselves in the oven, perfect. I love your sweet potato hummus and the added feta as well is simply genius!
      I didn’t realise that ISIS makes that much per day from trafficking, it is simply horrible! 😦

  8. Stephanie @ The Cozy Cook says:

    WOW this looks amazing, full of so many different flavors, I’ve never tried making duck before- I’m not sure I’ve ever even tasted it before, I might have to be daring and try this!! 🙂

    • petra08 says:

      hi Stephanie
      Thanks for stopping by and I am glad you liked it 🙂
      Duck is wonderful and this is a super easy way to cook it! 🙂

  9. You put together an fairly elaborate dinner on very little time, very creative and delicious! I haven’t tried pork cheeks before, the pork here in the US is often disappointing. I’ll look for them at the butcher store. And kimchi in the mash…a bit like bubble and squeak but with a punch. I like it!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Liz
      Oh I like the idea of “kimchi bubble and squeak”! 🙂
      The dish works with shoulder of pork as well, always worth getting it from the butcher if you can. I can’t get pork cheeks very often so I always buy them when I find them! These had been frozen already so I had to cook them but they are so good it is always a pleasure!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

