Bavette steak with beef jam and black pudding crumble

Steak with beef jam, black pudding crumble and savoy cabbage

I think steak is an iconic dish. Most everyone will have their own preference in cut and how it is cooked and what makes the perfect side dish. After going to Native, Covent Garden London I have been thinking about their venison jam. The Black Pig Butchers didn’t have any venison but I thought that short ribs would be great in a beef jam. I love to eat them just cooked but the meat is so soft and I thought the texture would work.

I bought bavette steak, one of my favorite cuts and a small black pudding and thought I would bring them all together for a Sunday lunch.

The jam takes a little time to make but it is worth it and it is happy to cook away undisturbed. I used a bottle of prosecco, I had saved a few bottles of my favorite prosecco but it was clearly a mistake as it was on the verge of going off, just slightly too sharp so I thought I would use it for cooking.

 

Beef jam 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 4 hours + 2 1/2 hours the following day 

oven 140C or 284F

serves 8-10 as a side dish 

Ingredients

Day 1

  • 3 beef short ribs
  • 1 bottle of prosecco
  • 1/2 dl fish sauce
  • fresh ginger sliced
  • 3 fresh bayleaves
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled and gently crushed
  • 1 onion, peeled and cut in half
  • 2 chipotle chilies
  • 2 dried red chilies

Day 2

  • pulled short rib, any excess fat removed
  • the onion, garlic, ginger, chipotle chili, red chilli that cooked with the short ribs, chopped fine
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 dl or 1/4 cup dark muscavado sugar
  • 1/4 dl or 1/8 cup rice wine vinegar
  • 1/4 dl or 1/8 cup Shaoxing rice wine
  • cooking liquid, fat removed

Last, optional

  • 1 tbsp Seville orange marmalade

 

Beef jam ingredients

 

Place the beef ribs in an oven proof dish with a lid. Add the other ingredients and place the lid on the pan. If you want less heat simply use half the amount of chilies. I like a bit of a kick and the jam is served as a complement, not as a stand alone dish so some of the heat will be absorbed by the other ingredients.

 

Ingredients for beef jam

 

Add the lid and place the pan in the oven for a minimum of 4 hours. I checked after 3 hours but the meat didn’t have the right “fall apart” texture that I was after. An hour cooking more and they were perfect.

Let the ribs cool down enough to handle. Pick the meat off the bones and shred it fine. I chopped the ginger, onion, garlic and chilies fine, not wanting to waste anything.

 

Beef jam ingredients

 

I placed the cooking liquids in a jar in the fridge over night to make sure I got rid of the fat.

 

The next day I placed the shredded meat and chopped onion, ginger and chilies in an oven proof pan with a lid. Add the cooking liquid, fat removed, the soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, the brown sugar and the Shaoxing rice wine. Place the pan in the oven at 140C 0r 284F again and cook for another 2 – 2 1/2 hours. The cooking liquids should be almost gone but it shouldn’t be dry. Taste and see if you want to add anything else. I added a table spoon of Seville orange and chilli marmalade. It was perfect to finish the dish. Seville orange marmalade is readily available in supermarkets, it has a bitter sweetness that worked with the beef.

 

beef jam

 

The jam was packed with flavor, meatiness from the beef, stickiness from the sugar and marmalade, smokiness and heat from the chipotle chili, a hit of ginger, garlic lingering in the back ground.

 

I cubed and roasted potatoes and butternut squash, tossed in oil, salt, pepper and cumin.

I steamed the Savoy cabbage and broccoli. I bought a whole head of Savoy cabbage at the market for £0.50, that is $0.62! I think it was the bargain of the day! It is seasonal and grows in abundance. There are no distribution chains between the grower and the market stall holder and this is how it can be so cheap.

 

Some of my dishes start with just one ingredient and the black pudding was destined for black pudding crumble, I had never made one before but thought about it for a while.

 

Black pudding crumble 

preparation time 5 minutes 

cooking time 10-15 minutes 

serves 4 as a side dish 

Ingredients

  • 1 small black pudding
  • 2 tbsp oats
  • 1 small handful of walnuts, chopped
  • oil for cooking
  • 1 small knob of butter for cooking
  • salt to taste

Heat oil in a pan and add the oats and walnuts. Pan fry them until they are crunchy, taste with salt. Place in a bowl.

Add the butter to the pan and take the black pudding out if it’s casing. Break it down to a crumble consistency and pan fry slightly crispy. Taste with salt. Add the oats just before serving to re heat and mix just before plating up. Cut apple julienne to serve with the dish.

 

I pan fried the bavette steak for 3 minutes on each side and rested it for 10 minutes. Slice the beef against the grain, add a little more salt and plate up.

 

I started with the roasted potatoes and butternut squash, add the black pudding crumble, creme fraiche, the beef jam,  steak slices and finish the dish with broccoli and savoy cabbage.

 

Steak with beef jam, black pudding crumble and savoy cabbage

 

The beef jam added heat and beefy flavor, the black pudding crumble added earthiness and they both brought out the best in the steak. I have quite a lot left of the jam and can’t wait to use it again.

 

I liked this so much I want to share this at the lovely Angie’s Fiesta Friday. I missed it last week and the week whizzed past and I couldn’t join, no week is the same without it so come and join us! It is a brilliant buffet of recipes from all over the world! This weeks co hosts are Anugya, Indian curry shack, and Margy, La Petitie Casserole, we are in for a treat!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
17 Responses to “Bavette steak with beef jam and black pudding crumble”
  1. chefkreso says:

    I love steak, it’s my favorite dish, your recipe sounds very tasty!

  2. Beef jam?! What a fun idea! Your photos are beautiful, as always, and such a lovely-sounding dish.

    • petra08 says:

      hi Caroline
      Thank you so much for your very lovely comment. There was so much flavor and it went so well with the steak.
      Have a lovely weekend 🙂

  3. chefjulianna says:

    This is a fascinating post, Petra! I have never heard of beef jam, but it sounds right up my alley. This is a beautifully complex dish! Wow! 😀

    • petra08 says:

      hi Julianna
      I am so glad you like it. The beef jam was experimental but I liked it so much I had to share it. I liked the texture and it had so much flavor, a little went a long way but the dish was still light. Thank you again and have a lovely weekend ahead! 🙂

  4. Ginger says:

    I am literally dribbling all over my keyboard, Petra – what a delicious combination, nay, creation! Anything with black pudding … but that beef jam? Ingenious!

    • petra08 says:

      hi Steffi
      What a lovely comment! You made my day 🙂 I am glad you like it, the beef jam worked a treat. I wasn’t sure at all when I made it but even the prosecco and fish sauce did wonders for the beef, who would have thought?! 🙂
      Hope all is well and the week is good x

  5. It looks awesome! Thanks for joining us at FF!

  6. Wow Petra that is such a beautiful dish. It looks absolutely delicious!

    • petra08 says:

      Hi Julie
      Thank you so much 🙂 I wasn’t sure about the beef jam but it worked so well and enhanced the beef flavor.
      Have a great rest of the week!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.